508,530 active members
3,051 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 2 of 2 12
Results 13 to 19 of 19
  1. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    836

    Re: UCCNC and Win10 questions

    " Of course you have to run with acceleration. Your motor loose steps if you run it without acceleration. "

    NOT Z under THC control (;-) Mach3 has been doing it for MANY years now under THC control.

    (;-) TP

  2. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    17

    Re: UCCNC and Win10 questions

    Quote Originally Posted by dazp1976 View Post
    Why don't you just make your PC dual boot. Partition the drive into 2. Keep Win10 intact on 1 and run Win7 on the other.
    You can get a Win7 key for next to nothing on bay then download Win7 32bit SP1 and install.
    Then just run Mach on Win7 side. This has now cost next to nothing to do.

    I still use Win xp on a dedicated PC because I prefer the stability. Luckily I still have my retail discs from 2004!
    Hated trying to get mine working on 7.
    Absolutely hate Win10 full stop.
    Great idea except that I use my laptop for my Solidworks and would be try to juggle between the two too much.
    Next question. Would you say that Mach runs better on XP than Win7? I can buy a cheap refurbished Dell and I have my disc for Win7 but if I’m going to have a dedicated unit for the table I would like to set it up as well as possible. I would be running Mach3 with Sheetcam. What are your thoughts on that one? Thanks.

  3. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    874

    Re: UCCNC and Win10 questions

    Quote Originally Posted by vmax549 View Post
    " Of course you have to run with acceleration. Your motor loose steps if you run it without acceleration. "

    NOT Z under THC control (;-) Mach3 has been doing it for MANY years now under THC control.

    (;-) TP
    Interesting because it is still a stepper motor which needs acceleration and decceleration no matter if it is THC control or whatever. I don't think mach3 did that you probably misunderstanding something.

  4. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    874

    Re: UCCNC and Win10 questions

    And I used mach3 first and I did not see any difference in the THC performance, the only difference was that UCCNC runs the path smoother and more reliable.

  5. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    836

    Re: UCCNC and Win10 questions

    With Mach3 and THC control of teh Z it uses what is called a Bang Bang trajectory. It simply switches ON/OFF teh pulse stream. Using this method though you are limited to your stepper motors natural frequency limit with Velocity before it misses steps. BUT it is the fastest method to control the Z axis under THC control. Mach3 has used this method since day one with THC control.

    (;-) TP

  6. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    874

    Re: UCCNC and Win10 questions

    Quote Originally Posted by vmax549 View Post
    With Mach3 and THC control of teh Z it uses what is called a Bang Bang trajectory. It simply switches ON/OFF teh pulse stream. Using this method though you are limited to your stepper motors natural frequency limit with Velocity before it misses steps. BUT it is the fastest method to control the Z axis under THC control. Mach3 has used this method since day one with THC control.

    (;-) TP
    OK I undertand it now. I remember a few times my Z stepper stall with Mach3 and I always thought that some dust or something went into the Z screw, but now that you explained this I know that it stalled because it uses no acceleration pffff.

  7. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    17

    Re: UCCNC and Win10 questions


    So something like this with Win7 or WinXP 32bit would do the trick for me with Mach?

Page 2 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. UC100 and Win10 Home
    By Bad Wolf in forum UCCNC Control Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-23-2018, 02:50 AM
  2. WIN10 compatible Mach3/4 hardware
    By mmarc in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-27-2018, 06:26 PM
  3. v21 on win10 keeps crashing
    By rccars4sal in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-21-2017, 02:49 PM
  4. Losing USB Connection (Win10)
    By JerryBurks in forum PlanetCNC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-12-2017, 04:36 PM
  5. Dolphin V13.5 Problems in Win10
    By RavenNZ in forum Dolphin CADCAM
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-20-2016, 10:32 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •