508,301 active members
3,326 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > GS3 VFD 10hp/4Kw Chinese Spindle
Page 2 of 2 12
Results 13 to 22 of 22
  1. #13

    Re: GS3 VFD 10hp/4Kw Chinese Spindle

    Well that just sucks. :tired: Is there any error on the display when it stops?
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  2. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    77

    Re: GS3 VFD 10hp/4Kw Chinese Spindle

    No sir.

    I let it stop, but not much farther than that because the machine will drag the bit all over the table like a rag doll.

    It does get to about 50% motor load now, but it isn't enough to overcome the hp needed to run the bit. Even with the machine at 100ipm, it stops within 4 seconds.

  3. #15

    Re: GS3 VFD 10hp/4Kw Chinese Spindle

    That is very strange. If the VFD faults out there should be an error message, so maybe it is not faulting but rather you are shutting it off before it can fault. I'm not saying you shouldn't shut it off, but that might explain the lack of a fault message.

    It could be that you are just not producing enough torque to run that bit, but that is a lot of spindle so I'm surprised. Too bad it won't auto tune, If you could run it in SV mode it would produce near full torque at near 0 RPM, and certainly produce full torque at 12K RPM.

    The good news is that the tech support at Automation Direct is great.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  4. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    77

    Re: GS3 VFD 10hp/4Kw Chinese Spindle

    I was able to get auto-tune to run. I had to switch P3.00 to 0 so I could use the control panel instead of the signal being sent from my computer.

    After auto-tune, I ran the toolpath again, and let it go about 6 seconds after the bit had stopped before I cut it off. The motor load showed 36.6% the whole time it was stopped, with no faults.

    I also changed out the bit to a 1" straight bit that I have used many times, and it bogged down just the same. I think it is the spindle, not the VFD. I am going to pull the whole setup and sell the VFD, and just go to a production grade router. I have messed with this spindle with 2 different VFDs and I am just kind of done. The work requirement that I used to have for it is no longer there, and I just want to move on from it.

    Thanks again for all of your help.

  5. #17

    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    101

    Re: GS3 VFD 10hp/4Kw Chinese Spindle

    Pity that you have to give up now....can i suggest something?

  6. #18

    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    101

    Re: GS3 VFD 10hp/4Kw Chinese Spindle

    Just to give you an idea of the amount of torque i get from a very cheap chinese 2.2Kw drive and hertz 1.5Kw spindle. I was milling aluminium when the part came loose, it did not jam immediately but took huge chunks out of the aluminium....It never stalled, i had to stop the spindle.

  7. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    77

    Re: GS3 VFD 10hp/4Kw Chinese Spindle

    I don't doubt that the VFD and spindle are both very capable when they are setup correctly. I just don't have the luxury of time right now to troubleshoot the machine while the spindle is on it.

    Busy season is upon us, and my wife gave me the luxury of taking a couple of weeks and re-doing some things that have hindered me for a while with the machine. At the end of all of that, it doesn't seem to be working out and I need to switch tact for a little while.

    The VFD should be worth $500 all day long, and that will get me a router that will do what I need for right now, and if I decide to go back to a spindle, I won't have reservations in doing so.

    Something about this spindle just spooks me, and after having issues on and off for 7 years, I am just ready to move on.

    If anyone wants to purchase the spindle, I will sell it for $50 + shipping as is. It may be a beast, I just have never been able to find out.

  8. #20

    Re: GS3 VFD 10hp/4Kw Chinese Spindle

    I was pretty happy with a Porter Cable 75182 router motor. https://www.woodcraft.com/products/p...ly-model-75182

    ER20 collet nuts are available for the 7500 series routers https://buildyourcnc.com/routeraccessories.aspx
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  9. #21

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10434

    Re: GS3 VFD 10hp/4Kw Chinese Spindle

    Quote Originally Posted by swaggs21 View Post
    I am going to quadruple check them when I get home, but yes. First thing I am going to do is check resistance on the spindle windings, and then go from there.
    You have 10Hp running on single phase is asking for problems

    Your cutter was to big for that speed, you don't have the torque to drive it very light cuts it would work, on single phase 7Hp is about the limit for a VFD Drive on single phase, you can get away with light cutting with the higher Hp VFD Drive but there is not much point if you stall it's all over it does not matter what spindle you have something is going to fail if the VFD Drive has not been setup correct so if there is a stall the VFD Drive does not put out 200% and damage what ever it is attached to

    For that VFD Drive to work correctly you would need more than 47A input so lets say 50A supply to be on the safe side the spindle won't need that but the VFD drive needs it to work correctly

    7Hp would of been a better choice as you would not of needed as much current 35A would work for the 7Hp drive
    Mactec54

  10. #22

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10434

    Re: GS3 VFD 10hp/4Kw Chinese Spindle

    Quote Originally Posted by swaggs21 View Post
    I don't doubt that the VFD and spindle are both very capable when they are setup correctly. I just don't have the luxury of time right now to troubleshoot the machine while the spindle is on it.

    Busy season is upon us, and my wife gave me the luxury of taking a couple of weeks and re-doing some things that have hindered me for a while with the machine. At the end of all of that, it doesn't seem to be working out and I need to switch tact for a little while.

    The VFD should be worth $500 all day long, and that will get me a router that will do what I need for right now, and if I decide to go back to a spindle, I won't have reservations in doing so.

    Something about this spindle just spooks me, and after having issues on and off for 7 years, I am just ready to move on.

    If anyone wants to purchase the spindle, I will sell it for $50 + shipping as is. It may be a beast, I just have never been able to find out.
    Something is damaged you don't have anything to sell the spindle is 7 years old it did well, you just had to much spindle for the power you had to drive it with
    Mactec54

Page 2 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. help with spindle motor winding resistance 10hp
    By harrimansat in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 03-20-2019, 05:41 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-19-2018, 05:12 PM
  3. Replies: 33
    Last Post: 02-17-2018, 01:35 AM
  4. Is there any interest in a 10HP, 25K MAX RPM spindle, Made in the USA
    By cadfish in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 07-01-2011, 02:07 AM
  5. 5HP Colombo Spindle Kits wired w/ 10HP VFD
    By blurrycustoms in forum News Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 08:44 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •