584,846 active members*
4,153 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Autodesk > Fanuc 5t Post Processor System Fusion Help! (Or JavaScript help!?)
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Fanuc 5t Post Processor System Fusion Help! (Or JavaScript help!?)

    I've posted on a few forums including the Fusion help forum. I am hoping that someone here has an old Fanuc 5t or similar and has a solution for this?

    I am facing 2 problems (that I know of) One is the 5t does not recognize decimal points. The other problem is the G Code that is being out put drops any trailing zeros.

    I have edited my post processor Script with the following. But is only has the desired effect in part and is a poor and dangerous band aid in my opinion. X is pretty close to what it needs to be unless it ends in zero/s. The other z, etc sometimes get rounded up and also suffer the same problem with zeros being omitted.

    var xFormat = createFormat({decimals:0, scale:2000}); // diameter mode
    var yFormat = createFormat({decimals:0, scale:1000});
    var zFormat = createFormat({decimals:0, scale:1000});
    var rFormat = createFormat({decimals:0, scale:1000}); // radius
    var feedFormat = createFormat({decimals:0, scale:1000});

    Maybe there's some one here who is good with JavaScript? Or maybe another solution? If we can make it always post digits to the tenth I can manually edit out the decimals if need be. I've lost several days to trying to figure this out... Any help would be very greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    339

    Re: Fanuc 5t Post Processor System Fusion Help! (Or JavaScript help!?)

    We'd need to see that createFormat() method, which is what computes the outputs, not the var.
    Also post a few lines example of the current Gcode you are getting and the desired one, just so we understand what you are after.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    205

    Re: Fanuc 5t Post Processor System Fusion Help! (Or JavaScript help!?)

    Maybe an external app? ... like this :
    https://www.kentechinc.com/kipwarexc.html

    You could output the G code using some generic post ... like Fanuc ... then run the G code file through this to auto-convert the format to the format you need.
    Lots of decimal point conversion options ... see attached.

  4. #4

    Re: Fanuc 5t Post Processor System Fusion Help! (Or JavaScript help!?)

    I posted in a few places looking for help with this to no avail. I am going to try and update those threads for anyone this may help. Hopefully this is correct it seems to work as intended in preliminary tests





    Ok so I have finally figured out how to assure that trailing Zeros are not dropped using a trim command, I have also added a forceDecimal command but for some reason it has no effect. I will say that I do not really know JavaScript so if you use the following edits please beware. I will just use the search and replace feature in note pad to delete the decimals. It would be nice if that were a user definable feature and I am sure it could be easily done. But I think I am happy for now. Hopefully this helps someone with a fanuc 5t or like machine.

    If anyone has any ideas for upgrades or edits I would be interested to hear.

    I have had to ad a space in every line of the code posted here between : ( so it will not display an emoji in this thread posting. These charecters are found between the words Decimal and Unit in the code.

    var spatialFormat = createFormat({decimals: (unit == MM ? 3 : 4), trim:false, forceDecimal:false});

    var xFormat = createFormat({decimals: (unit == MM ? 3 : 4), trim:false, forceDecimal:false}); // diameter mode

    var yFormat = createFormat({decimals: (unit == MM ? 3 : 4), trim:false, forceDecimal:false});

    var zFormat = createFormat({decimals: (unit == MM ? 3 : 4), trim:false, forceDecimal:false});

    var rFormat = createFormat({decimals: (unit == MM ? 3 : 4), trim:false, forceDecimal:false});

    var feedFormat = createFormat({decimals: (unit == MM ? 3 : 4), trim:false, forceDecimal:false});

  5. #5

    Re: Fanuc 5t Post Processor System Fusion Help! (Or JavaScript help!?)

    I posted in a few places looking for help with this to no avail. I am going to try and update those threads for anyone this may help. Hopefully this is correct it seems to work as intended in preliminary tests





    Ok so I have finally figured out how to assure that trailing Zeros are not dropped using a trim command, I have also added a forceDecimal command but for some reason it has no effect. I will say that I do not really know JavaScript so if you use the following edits please beware. I will just use the search and replace feature in note pad to delete the decimals. It would be nice if that were a user definable feature and I am sure it could be easily done. But I think I am happy for now. Hopefully this helps someone with a fanuc 5t or like machine.

    If anyone has any ideas for upgrades or edits I would be interested to hear.



    Please note I have added a space between the characters : ( found between the words Decimal and Unit, so that they do not post to this thread as an emoji...

    var spatialFormat = createFormat({decimals: (unit == MM ? 3 : 4), trim:false, forceDecimal:false});

    var xFormat = createFormat({decimals: (unit == MM ? 3 : 4), trim:false, forceDecimal:false}); // diameter mode

    var yFormat = createFormat({decimals: (unit == MM ? 3 : 4), trim:false, forceDecimal:false});

    var zFormat = createFormat({decimals: (unit == MM ? 3 : 4), trim:false, forceDecimal:false});

    var rFormat = createFormat({decimals: (unit == MM ? 3 : 4), trim:false, forceDecimal:false});

    var feedFormat = createFormat({decimals: (unit == MM ? 3 : 4), trim:false, forceDecimal:false});


    I am sure the post processor could still use refinement. I hadn't seen this (link below) and found it use full. Thanks for the help and ideas!

    https://cam.autodesk.com/posts/posts...ng%20Guide.pdf

Similar Threads

  1. Fusion 360 Post processor for Synetc 6MB control system
    By allencncrouter in forum Autodesk Post Processors
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2019, 04:13 AM
  2. Fusion 360 Post Processor
    By brianbonedoc in forum Smithy
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-10-2017, 05:55 AM
  3. Working fusion 360 post processor
    By keithmcelhinney in forum Novakon
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-13-2016, 05:35 AM
  4. fusion 360 post processor
    By MFchief in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-20-2016, 08:20 PM
  5. SlantPRO post processor for Fusion 360.
    By adamvs in forum Tormach Slant Lathe
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-26-2016, 05:43 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •