512,393 active members
2,575 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Metalworking Machines > Fadal > Leveling stock using 4th axis and probe
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39

    Leveling stock using 4th axis and probe

    Can anyone help with any "simple" methods of leveling stock in Y axis terms, that is chucked in the A axis ...... using touch probe outputs/findings ?? Perhaps a better way to put it is - how do you relate -Y axis touch probe Z output and a +Y axis touch probe Z output ..... so you can turn that into how many degrees to A axis needs to travel so -Y and +Y Z level is equal ??

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39

    Re: Leveling stock using 4th axis and probe

    I have re-read the above post and think it may be a confusing/overly complicated way of explaining the problem and I'm relatively new to the CNC game .... so I'll try another way.

    I am trying to tram stock (an existing part) that is mounted to the A axis .... using outputs from a touch probe. I need to incorporate this into a program so the machine can probe the parts Z height and then tram the part via the A axis.

    I have tried to do this manually by jogging an equal distance either side of Y 0.0 and writing down the Z heights of each side .... then splitting the difference between the Z heights .... jogging the probe up/down to that point .... then jogging the A axis till it touches.
    That "manual" method gets the tram close .... but there is still quite a difference when repeating the same jog/probing process to check it is trammed. I think this is most likely caused by parts height above the A axis rotational center (around 9 inches) which would mean the surface I'm trying to tram, is moving in both Y and Z terms when the A axis is moved ??

    There must be a method to calculating the A axis rotation required .... but I can't dig up any knowledge/routines to making it work.
    Any help appreiated

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    776

    Re: Leveling stock using 4th axis and probe

    Wouldn't that be arctan(Zdiff/Ydist)? Ydist is the distance between the two probing points (centered at Y=0), Zdiff is the difference between the probe readings in those points.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39

    Re: Leveling stock using 4th axis and probe

    It been a LONG time since I was at school but doing a search on arctan I think you might be on the right track. Looking at a definition of what arctan is, I am probably getting the error as I'm not doing the first touch at Y 0.0 ??
    The method I was trying was equal distance from Y 0.0 ... e.g Y -2.0 & Y 2.0 . Does that make sense to anyone ?

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    776

    Re: Leveling stock using 4th axis and probe

    Quote Originally Posted by Cfin View Post
    The method I was trying was equal distance from Y 0.0 ... e.g Y -2.0 & Y 2.0 . Does that make sense to anyone ?
    The arc tangent formula should be correct for any two points, assuming the stock is flat. For instance, if your probe touches at (Y=3, Z=-0.07) and (Y=5, Z=-0.05), then the stock is tilted

    arctan ((-0.05-(-0.07)/(5-3)) = arctan (0.02/2) = 0.57 degrees. That's the amount you must rotate the A axis to align the stock with the XY plane.

    If my math is wrong (which is entirely possible), please correct me.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39

    Re: Leveling stock using 4th axis and probe

    Ok, I can understand that and think I have my head around it now. This is probably a dumb question but I'll ask it anyway .... I assume for this to work correctly Z0 would need to be set to the A axis center line height?

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    776

    Re: Leveling stock using 4th axis and probe

    Quote Originally Posted by Cfin View Post
    Ok, I can understand that and think I have my head around it now. This is probably a dumb question but I'll ask it anyway .... I assume for this to work correctly Z0 would need to be set to the A axis center line height?
    No, Z0 does not matter. The formula will give you the same answer no matter where your Z0 is.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39

    Re: Leveling stock using 4th axis and probe

    Yes that makes sense to me now. Thank you very much for your help !!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    1
    I recommend looking at website if you are interested in a new type of game. Where to find out all the intricacies of games like this.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    548

    Re: Leveling stock using 4th axis and probe

    Use the "find center point" probe option in the setup menu. It does the math for you. As for automating it to a touch probe with a fadal controller I have no idea.

Similar Threads

  1. Hardinge out of stock on X axis bearings - what now?
    By lrgoodger in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-14-2015, 08:23 PM
  2. Probe to find center of stock???
    By mioduz in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-18-2013, 05:48 AM
  3. TP-100 Probe - Compare Performance Motion probe to IMService probe
    By dgoddard in forum Digitizing and Laser Digitizing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-06-2013, 07:13 PM
  4. Auto align B-axis (rotary axis) using probe
    By pwilson101 in forum Parametric Programing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-06-2012, 02:53 AM
  5. 4th axis tail stock
    By OptionCNC in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2011, 04:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •