585,970 active members*
4,366 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Table origin shifting after setting

Greetings,

I am having a problem with a shifting x,y,z origin on my Nema 23 4x4 pro table. I turn everything on, initialize the table zeros in Mach4 and set my work origin. I will then do a cut, occasionally stopping it in the middle if I don't like what is happening which may or may not be the cause if the issue. What's happening is the x,y,z zero moves slightly. I'm not sure if it's the stepper motors getting out of sync or mach4 losing track of where the "zero" is. I noted this by moving the bit to the zero position and checking.

Has anyone else noticed this behavior? Ideas or suggestions to troubleshoot would be appreciated as I'm still learning!

Thanks!

Perry

Re: Table origin shifting after setting

It sounds like you're losing steps. This happens when stepper motors try but fail to reach a commanded position. In an open-loop stepper system, there is no feedback mechanism to compare the commanded position to the position actually achieved. But it will be evident when the tool is moved back to the original zero position - the DROs will say it's at zero, but the place will be different.

The first thing to do is to check for mechanical problems. This might be a sticky place in the slides, a slipping pulley, etc. If that's not it, then usually adjusting the velocity and acceleration settings will fix the problem - if the velocity is in a reasonable range, reduce the acceleration by half and retest; usually it will behave better. Of course, there are other things that will cause lost steps, but try these first and let us know what happened.
    Andrew Werby
    Website

Another problem could be noise. It's questionable that you would be having a sticking or slipping problem with all three axes - especially with the Avid Z-axis. Have you greased your bearing blocks and Z ball screw?