584,817 active members*
4,832 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > PlanetCNC > Several input for triggering emergency stop.
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    119

    Several input for triggering emergency stop.

    Hi.

    I have recently added a floating head with a breakaway torch. This is with a pnp sensor which I have connected to input 4. This works okay and the input is triggered when I remove the torch.

    However I would like this to trigger a emergency stop if the torch were to fall of. But I can't find any place to add this in the TNG software.

    Is there a way to specify that the input should trigger a emergency stop?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    131

    Re: Several input for triggering emergency stop.

    I do something similar for monitoring my 4th axis,


    you can trigger the estop from the expr.txt

    this is what I do for my 4th axis:
    #OnInit
    state_estop_4th = 0;

    #Loop
    if(_hw_input_num|3 == 1&& state_estop_4th==0, exec(state_estop_4th=1,estop(1),print('4th Axis error')));
    if(_hw_input_num|3 == 0 , exec(state_estop_4th=0));

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    119

    Re: Several input for triggering emergency stop.

    If I understand it correctly this is a script running in the background?

    #Oninit means on startup or start of program it checks the value of the input?

    #Loop means that the script is running continuously throughout the program and if triggered will throw a "4th axis error" on the screen?

    Should have been a easier way than this, if I don't remember incorrectly you could chose what the inputs meant in the old software without limitations.

    Quote Originally Posted by ScorpionTDL View Post
    I do something similar for monitoring my 4th axis,


    you can trigger the estop from the expr.txt

    this is what I do for my 4th axis:
    #OnInit
    state_estop_4th = 0;

    #Loop
    if(_hw_input_num|3 == 1&& state_estop_4th==0, exec(state_estop_4th=1,estop(1),print('4th Axis error')));
    if(_hw_input_num|3 == 0 , exec(state_estop_4th=0));

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    131

    Re: Several input for triggering emergency stop.

    Yea you got that correctly.
    Don't know if there is a other more easier way. But this has been working fine for more.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    107

    Re: Several input for triggering emergency stop.

    You may assign a single input pin in settings -> Shortcuts to the emergency stop, but i personally prefere the same way ScorpionTDL suggested. This way you have more flexible options for displaying messages or use pins which may not require e-stop but triggering pause or regular stop.
    I use e-stop for errors from motor drivers, regular stop if spindle is overheated and pause if air pressure is low or tool temperature is high. All depending if i think a short delay is ok or not and if there may be a chance to fix the error and resume operation without actually interrupting the program..

Similar Threads

  1. Problems with Emergency Stop/Stop function.
    By MrEmo in forum PlanetCNC
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-19-2021, 10:47 AM
  2. emergency stop condition after E stop
    By Cosmin90 in forum Fadal
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-14-2020, 01:30 AM
  3. E stop triggering
    By technetics in forum K2CNC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-26-2016, 10:27 PM
  4. Generic Emergency Stop (E-Stop) Design Concepts?
    By zipzit in forum CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-09-2011, 12:14 PM
  5. Physical Button Signal Input Triggering Macro
    By sunmix in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-25-2006, 04:26 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •