510,021 active members
3,759 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    17

    enroute and aspire

    Help a green horn figure out the difference. Thanks. To be used for millwork on an avid cnc.

  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34611

    Re: enroute and aspire

    Enroute comes in different versions, with different levels of features. Enroute Pro is much more powerful than Aspire, but costs more than 3x as much. They also have a subscription for $1100/year.
    Aspire probably has more features than the Basic version of Enroute, though.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    17

    Re: enroute and aspire

    I am trying to figure out if the Aspire would work trouble free with my cabinet solutions software but cabinet solutions recommends the enroute and Avid recommends the aspire....Of course cost is the issue here.

  4. #4
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34611

    Re: enroute and aspire

    What are you expecting to do?
    Does your Cabinet Solutions export .dxf files and a cutlist or parts file (CSV)?
    I believe that the Pro version of Enroute can work with that much better than Aspire.

    Aspire has a free demo version, though. Download it and see if it will do what you need.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    17

    Re: enroute and aspire

    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    What are you expecting to do?
    Does your Cabinet Solutions export .dxf files and a cutlist or parts file (CSV)?
    I believe that the Pro version of Enroute can work with that much better than Aspire.

    Aspire has a free demo version, though. Download it and see if it will do what you need.
    I am just wanting to cut cabinet boxes. Cabinet Solutions says Aspire will not work, it has to be enroute. My current plan is 4x10 or 5x10 pro version, not sure if the mach 4 is the way to go yet, building a vac table for it and using the cnc depot s30. as long as the 18000 rpm over the 24000 isn't going to be a problem, then making it all actually work...I guess the s30 isn't actually plug and play. All thoughts and opinions on this are welcomed.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    427

    Re: enroute and aspire

    I might be wrong,but which of the additional capabilities of Aspire are justified for cabinet boxes?You can probably do it with Vcarve and save a chunk of money.

  7. #7
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34611

    Re: enroute and aspire

    Cabinet Solutions website has basically zero info on their cnc export.

    You need to learn and understand how the process works, before you spend your money.

    Most likely, Cabinet Solutions is exporting individual .dxf files for each part, alonf with a .CSV "parts" file that contains part sizes, quantities, .dxf names, and other things.
    Enroute is probably reading the parts file, and subsequently reading the .dxf files, creatings toolpaths, nesting the toolpaths, and exporting the g-code, all in one automated process.

    Aspire can do a limited version of this.
    1) Aspire has a batch .dxf import gadget, that will import all .dxf files from a folder. This has a few limitations. One, all parts would need to be the same thickness. Two, there's no way top specify individual part quantities, so you'd need a unique .dxf file for every part.

    2) After doing the batch import, you can select all the parts, and nest them fairly easily. I suspect that Enroute would allow you to specify grain direction on a per part level, so that parts with grain direction would not be rotated during nesting, but parts without grain could be rotated. With Aspire, this would be a global setting during nesting.

    3) Once nested, you would use toolpath templates to automate toolpath creation. Once toolpaths were created, you'd need to manually export the g-code for each sheet of nested parts.

    I've never used Enroute, but I've been doing this type of work every day for over 20 years (Currently using AlphaCAM). Once you export from your cabinet software, processing for the CNC should be a " 1 button click" process, with the right software. With the wrong software, A 1-2 minute process could take an hour or two, or longer.


    You don't need more than 18,000 rpm to cut cabinet parts. Our $150,000 router has an 18,000 rpm spindle, and cuts 5x faster than an AVID machine will.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    17

    Re: enroute and aspire

    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    Cabinet Solutions website has basically zero info on their cnc export.

    You need to learn and understand how the process works, before you spend your money.

    Most likely, Cabinet Solutions is exporting individual .dxf files for each part, alonf with a .CSV "parts" file that contains part sizes, quantities, .dxf names, and other things.
    Enroute is probably reading the parts file, and subsequently reading the .dxf files, creatings toolpaths, nesting the toolpaths, and exporting the g-code, all in one automated process.

    Aspire can do a limited version of this.
    1) Aspire has a batch .dxf import gadget, that will import all .dxf files from a folder. This has a few limitations. One, all parts would need to be the same thickness. Two, there's no way top specify individual part quantities, so you'd need a unique .dxf file for every part.

    2) After doing the batch import, you can select all the parts, and nest them fairly easily. I suspect that Enroute would allow you to specify grain direction on a per part level, so that parts with grain direction would not be rotated during nesting, but parts without grain could be rotated. With Aspire, this would be a global setting during nesting.

    3) Once nested, you would use toolpath templates to automate toolpath creation. Once toolpaths were created, you'd need to manually export the g-code for each sheet of nested parts.

    I've never used Enroute, but I've been doing this type of work every day for over 20 years (Currently using AlphaCAM). Once you export from your cabinet software, processing for the CNC should be a " 1 button click" process, with the right software. With the wrong software, A 1-2 minute process could take an hour or two, or longer.


    You don't need more than 18,000 rpm to cut cabinet parts. Our $150,000 router has an 18,000 rpm spindle, and cuts 5x faster than an AVID machine will.
    wow thank you. Cabinet solutions has a little video on how it works, but still a bit greek to me.

Similar Threads

  1. Aspire from Vetric vs. Aspire from Alphacam
    By jooooooe in forum Aspire
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-04-2015, 04:52 PM
  2. Enroute to ASpire?
    By duvaldesigns in forum Vectric
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-17-2012, 06:51 PM
  3. Enroute vs Aspire
    By gary545 in forum EnRoute
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-31-2011, 09:58 AM
  4. Hi New to CNC & Enroute
    By CNC Oz in forum EnRoute
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 09:22 AM
  5. Enroute anyone?
    By trooper55 in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2008, 03:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •