512,240 active members
4,433 visitors online
Register for free
Login

Thread: Print,

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    847

    Print,

    Does anyone know where the print statement prints to ? Teh manual say it prints to STDERR but what is that ??

    (PRINT, Var1 = #1)

    (;-) TP

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    58

    Re: Print,

    Use (DEBUG, Var1 = #1) and they'll show up on the Status tab. Or use the LOGOPEN, LOGAPPEND, LOG, LOGCLOSE functions and provide your own file name.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    365

    Re: Print,

    STDERR ends up being the normal log file for the pathpilot (the one that you end up sending to their techs if they troubleshoot.)

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    233

    Re: Print,

    STDERR is a Linux thing & in the PP environment it is mapped to the terminal program that launches PP. When using PP full screen you don't normally see this application but this is where STDERR is outputting its messages. However, these messages are mixed in with many other messages so it makes sorting them out a pain.

    You can get to this application window using the ALT+TAB key and select the "Terminal". DO NOT close this application otherwise PP will have a fit.

    If you have not already done so it is much easier to setup PP to boot into the desktop then you can view both PP and the Terminal simultaneously.

    As "old-cnc-geek" mentions there are better methods but as I recall I didn't have any success with them so I just resort to the above.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    58

    Re: Print,

    As "old-cnc-geek" mentions there are better methods but as I recall I didn't have any success with them so I just resort to the above.
    The (LOG) stuff was fixed relatively recently (PP 2.1+). It always worked, but the resulting file used to end up in a very awkward location. It now is put in the gcode folder as you'd expect. And relative folders work also if directory exists. (LOGOPEN, myprojectA/log.txt) vs. (LOGOPEN, myprojectB/log.txt)

    Its easy to forget the comma after the command portion of the comment, but that's linuxcnc syntax.

Similar Threads

  1. cnc to 3d print
    By majstoralc in forum General 3D Printer Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-22-2017, 09:23 AM
  2. 3D print out
    By gene8522 in forum General Signmaking Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-10-2011, 01:52 AM
  3. how to 3d print?
    By lasernewb in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-28-2011, 09:37 PM
  4. cant print?
    By erase42 in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-30-2009, 03:05 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-05-2009, 02:36 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •