584,829 active members*
4,953 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Newbie problem-wiring in spindle motor

Newbie problem-wiring in spindle motor

Hi guys,

As the title suggest I am very new to CNC, and feel a bit out of depth in attempting to solve this problem.
    Any help would be very much appreciated.

I have inherited a CNC milling machine that had a dead spindle motor. Everything else for the cnc was wired up except for the spindle motor, so I'm not sure what and where to connect it to.
    Being new to cnc I don't have much experience with cnc machines or electrical systems, I am worried if I wire it incorrectly I will blow something up.

I have attached some photos. The red square is where i think it should be wired in, however the motor only has 3 wires and there are 4 points remaining.

Again, any help is very much appreciated,

thanks in advance,
    Christopher
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1.3.jpg   IMG_20191116_145626526.jpg   IMG_20191116_145730350.jpg   PicsArt_11-16-03.16.35 (1).jpg  

Re: Newbie problem-wiring in spindle motor

Hi Christopher
    The terminals where you think the motor should be wired are wired from a stepper driver and the motor on your mill appears to be a brushed dc motor so wont go there , If the three wires come directly off the motor then you need a control board like a KBIC which would have been on the mill originally,it may be that the previous owner had intended to change the brushed motor for a large stepper motor and removed the control box .
    I cant tell from the pictures but if the control box is still on the mill then the three wires just need a plug top to provide power and the motor can be run separately from the cnc controller.
    I hope this helps
    Regards
    Dave