585,715 active members*
3,946 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Brass vs Aluminium Vs Steel, questions, questions and questions...
Page 1 of 2 12

Brass vs Aluminium Vs Steel, questions, questions and questions...

Hi all,

Ever since I got my X2 mill and C3 lathe, I have been playing around with aluminium. Just today I thought why not do some machining with brass and guess what I found out. Brass is easier to tap than aluminium. I thought brass is harder than aluminium, but why is it easier to tap. Also, when I drill hole in brass, the brass bits coming off the drilling is powdery unlike aluminium which is sharp.

I am new to metal machining so apology if the above sound silly. Anyway, after finding out what happen to brass I am now thinking about getting some steel to machine and tap. I wonder if it is easier to tap than aluminium.

Also why aren't people using more brass to work with? Is it because its more expensive? Is brass stronger than aluminium? Thanks in advance.

steel is cheapest out of 3 you named, probably strongest for most part, aluminum is slightly more expensive but easier to work with, but will cost you that strength, brass is soft and expensive, not much of structural material. Everything is relative to each other. Of coarse everything is just my opinion

also your speed might be wrong for brass, thats why it was like powder. Try to have correct speed for different materials, tools will last longer, and maybe get job done faster.

Hi Rustamd,

Thanks for the reply. When you say brass is not much of structural material, what do you mean by that? Does it have less strength than aluminium? Or it is more expensive hence not worth to use for structural purposes.