512,933 active members
2,473 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    18

    not one Zero touch plate macros are working

    Please help. I have had zero luck with any touch off plate macros. I have searched and found several macros to try as well as asking the manufacture of my machine for a macro and none seem to work. I have read many of the threads but nothing seems to help. Maybe I am just missing something so easy it just takes another set of eyes. Either the z travels down and touches the plate and then does nothing (That one was the best because I would just type in the .76 height in the DRO and all was good) or it will touch then run all the way up to trigger the home switch, I also have had them touch and then raise slightly and change the DRO to zero (obviously that doesn't work).

    I have people tell me there is a difference with the Chinese manufactured CNCs but no one has been able to tell me what I should do. Currently I have a Senyo CNC with a Mach3 controller. Attached is a picture of my control unit as well as the double touch, touch off plate macro. The version of Mach3 is 3.043.062

    I tried to set up Big Tex's blue screen v3.2 but that wouldn't work either. I can't find v3.4 to see if that fixes anything, however doubtful that may be.

    I am trying to cut solid wood doors but without z zero function working properly, I can't get a bottom without any lines due to the discrepancy of setting zero

    Any help, direction, where to purchase a working copy etc. would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2

    Re: not one Zero touch plate macros are working

    Not sure if this will help, but this is what I use on my CNC Router. This only works correctly for me if I have the Gcode that I want to run already loaded and after referencing the machine.

    'VB Code Start
    '-------------------
    CurrentFeed = GetOemDRO(818)
    DoSpinStop()

    ZMove = 20.00 'Total lenght of Probe to move before Stop or no Contact Made.
    ZOffset = .190 ' Plate Hight
    ZSal = ZOffset + .5 '+ Free Hight, Will possition the Proble 2 MM over the Material.

    StopZmove = 0
    If GetOemLed (825)=0 Then
    DoOEMButton (1010)
    Code "G4 P2.5"
    Code "G31 Z-"& ZMove & "F25"
    While IsMoving()
    Sleep(200)
    Wend
    Probepos = GetVar(2002)
    If Probepos = - ZMove Then
    responce = MsgBox ("**ERROR** " , 4 , "Probe **ERROR**" )
    Code "G0 Z10"
    StopZmove = 1
    Code "F" &CurrentFeed
    End If
    If StopZmove = 0 Then
    Code "G0 Z" & Probepos
    While IsMoving ()
    Sleep (200)
    Wend
    Call SetDro (2, ZOffset)
    Code "G4 P1"
    Code "G0 Z" & ZSal
    Code "(Z zeroed)"
    Code "F" &CurrentFeed
    End If
    Else
    Code "(Check Ground Probe)"
    End If
    Exit Sub
    '-------------------
    'VB Code Stop

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    18

    Re: not one Zero touch plate macros are working

    I will give it a try. Thanks for the reply

    When I used that one with the gcode loaded it goes down touches the contact then goes up twice a little bit and sets the z DRO to about .42 less than it should be

    it sets the Z DRO at 1.2598 but it is about 1.7 above the board

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    789

    Re: not one Zero touch plate macros are working

    Here is my touch plate script. The speeds and distances are in millimeters, so change them accordingly if you are using inches.

    Code:
    SpeedCoarse=100
    MoveCoarse=-10
    SpeedRetract=300
    RetractCoarse=0.2
    SpeedFine=10
    MoveFine=-0.3
    RetractFine=5
    TouchPlateHeight=0.8
    
    If IsSuchSignal (22) Then
    
    	Ztemp=GetOEMDRO(180)+MoveCoarse
    	code "G31 Z" & Ztemp & " F" & SpeedCoarse
    	While IsMoving()
    	Wend
    	
    	Ztemp=GetOEMDRO(180)+RetractCoarse
    	code "G00 Z" & Ztemp & " F" & SpeedRetract
    	
    	Ztemp=GetOEMDRO(180)+MoveFine
    	code "G31 Z" & Ztemp & " F" & SpeedFine
    	While IsMoving()
    	Wend
    	
    	call SetDRO(2,TouchPlateHeight)	
    	
    	Ztemp=RetractFine
    	code "G00 Z" & Ztemp & " F" & SpeedRetract
    	
    End If

  5. #5
    Neuer Benutzer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    559

    Re: not one Zero touch plate macros are working

    Mach Standard Mill is so worth the handful of dollars to drop onto of Mach 3. The probing routines are awesome. Add a touch plate or tool setter and run the probe as your master tool and things get really easy really quickly.

  6. #6
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34666

    Re: not one Zero touch plate macros are working

    Most probing macros, especially those that use the GetVAR() function, will not work with most Chinese controllers.

    Mach Standard Mill is so worth the handful of dollars to drop onto of Mach 3
    MSM only works with the parallel port and ESS, I believe. It won't work with Chinese controllers.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    18

    Re: not one Zero touch plate macros are working

    thanks for all that have replied. I have managed to get a very simple one to work. it calls for the thickness of the gage plate from the offsets tab instead of from a line in the macro

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    18

    Re: not one Zero touch plate macros are working

    sorry i posted the file twice and do not know how to delete one of them

Similar Threads

  1. G540 z touch plate stopped working
    By bgasser in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-08-2019, 08:09 PM
  2. K2 CNC touch plate
    By lumenire in forum K2CNC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-06-2017, 03:47 PM
  3. Good centre hole finding macros for touch probe sources?
    By lew90nicis in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-29-2015, 10:24 AM
  4. z touch off plate
    By Alwaysintheknow in forum Chinese Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-10-2013, 03:20 AM
  5. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-05-2013, 06:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •