512,950 active members
2,042 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1500

    Digital Microscope

    A querry to the guys/gals that have purchased a digital microscope for the Tormach or whatever is needed to use the Scanning function in PathPilot? I dont have a clue as to whats needed, any input is appreciated!

    I needed to make a drawing of an odd shaped object, PathPilot has a scanning function which I have never used, got me thinking that it might be interesting to experiment with this winter.........

    The USB microscopes are not expensive on Ebay, if they will work for this, but I would like to buy the right one the first time, so I thought what better place to ask, as I am sure someone has tried out this function, and this old man is really in the dark on what will work etc??

    thanks
    mike sr

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    376

    Re: Digital Microscope

    The scanning function I know about, uses the probe to measure where the object is. This needs an electric probe, not a microscope.
    An example of a probe is the "Impact Tolerant Touch Probe" which you can order directly from New Zeeland/Middle Earth.
    Works well for me (but for regular probe routines; I don't do digitization or scanning.)

    https://hallmarkdesign.co.nz/probe

    Hmm -- reading some more, it appears the old version (Mach 3) had some kind of camera-based function. I haven't seen it in PathPilot.
    You can install and start a webcam viewer (such as "cheese") on the PathPilot controller ("sudo apt-get install cheese" in the terminal) but trying to keep both PathPilot and the Cheese window visible at the same time will be hard. (Ctrl-tab will switch between them, though.)

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1500

    Re: Digital Microscope

    Quote Originally Posted by jwatte View Post
    The scanning function I know about, uses the probe to measure where the object is. This needs an electric probe, not a microscope.
    An example of a probe is the "Impact Tolerant Touch Probe" which you can order directly from New Zeeland/Middle Earth.
    Works well for me (but for regular probe routines; I don't do digitization or scanning.)

    https://hallmarkdesign.co.nz/probe

    Hmm -- reading some more, it appears the old version (Mach 3) had some kind of camera-based function. I haven't seen it in PathPilot.
    You can install and start a webcam viewer (such as "cheese") on the PathPilot controller ("sudo apt-get install cheese" in the terminal) but trying to keep both PathPilot and the Cheese window visible at the same time will be hard. (Ctrl-tab will switch between them, though.)

    I have a retrofitted Renishaw mp3 and am familar with the probe function, I was curious about the scan function in PP, I was wondering if a usb digital microscope would work?? There may be special software involved as well, just curious as I have never tried it before.

    My youngest lost the socket to take the wheels off his car (tamper proof), long story short, I didnt need the drawing, just made a crude die on the lathe, swedged the socket down (walmart special) and its done, now to see if it actually works OK.... I was just overcomplicating the process ha!
    mike sr

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1804

    Re: Digital Microscope

    Quote Originally Posted by popspipes View Post
    I have a retrofitted Renishaw mp3 and am familar with the probe function, I was curious about the scan function in PP, I was wondering if a usb digital microscope would work?? There may be special software involved as well, just curious as I have never tried it before.

    My youngest lost the socket to take the wheels off his car (tamper proof), long story short, I didnt need the drawing, just made a crude die on the lathe, swedged the socket down (walmart special) and its done, now to see if it actually works OK.... I was just overcomplicating the process ha!


    I have looked at this in the manual. The information looks to be old and the part numbers do not match a product on site. In the past I have use a tripod and camera to take 1:1 macro shot. then imported image and traced outlines. Accurate enough for gaskets and simple things like stencils.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1475

    Re: Digital Microscope

    I have often used a flatbed scanner to aid in digitizing flat and semi-flat objects. Most flatbed scanners have significant depth of field. Note that there is typically far less distortion with a scanner than with a typical digital camera.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1500

    Re: Digital Microscope

    I am wondering how that function works basically, it may just be a spindle centering method for a center punch mark or something similar, regardless, I dont think it would have worked for what I wanted it for.

    Im thinking maybe check youtube to see if there are some videos pertaining to that, just curious...........

    Once in a while there is a simple solution to a complex problem Ha! (refering to the swedge die for the part in question)

    Thanks to all that offered suggestions, they were appreciated!
    mike sr

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1804

    Re: Digital Microscope

    Quote Originally Posted by kstrauss View Post
    I have often used a flatbed scanner to aid in digitizing flat and semi-flat objects. Most flatbed scanners have significant depth of field. Note that there is typically far less distortion with a scanner than with a typical digital camera.
    True, In my case the object was a bit to big for a scanner.
    I like the microscope idea. I have one and thought of making a TTS holder for it. Mostly to test how well it would work as an optical center finder.
    Be handy to have an easy way to locate x.y ucs on small holes.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    31

    Re: Digital Microscope

    I use a centerscope, Cscope by TomsTinyShop. The scan function should work well but I use it manually to measure/reverse engineer existing parts.

    I also use it for the times when I need to locate off odd details. I use the ITTP for everything else.

Similar Threads

  1. centrecam usb microscope
    By js412000 in forum Calibration / Measurement
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-25-2015, 03:45 PM
  2. Tormach Scan Program and Microscope
    By g29cc in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 11-02-2010, 04:45 AM
  3. Carl Zeiss Toolmakers microscope?
    By Jack F in forum Metallurgy
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-01-2010, 03:32 PM
  4. Mach 3 with USB microscope for scanning
    By g29cc in forum Novakon
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-13-2010, 12:24 AM
  5. microscope project
    By haku in forum Mechanical Calculations/Engineering Design
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-14-2007, 02:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •