512,349 active members
2,442 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    13

    10 HP spindle

    Hello,

    I am just about to begin a CNC router build but am having quite a bit of trouble finding a 10 HP spindle.

    I am posting to see if any of you guys have any recommendations on where to source such a spindle, or any other details that may benefit??

    Thanks!!!
    George

  2. #2
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  3. #3
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34659

    Re: 10 HP spindle

    How big of a machine are you building that you need a 10HP spindle?

    Lots of spindle here https://spindlerepair.com/welcome/


    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    13

    Re: 10 HP spindle

    I am building a 4' x 8' machine, my goal is 16'' Z travel. The machine will be used to shape large timber components. I will be mainly running a 7'' long, 3/4'' diameter cutting tool which will be cutting through solid wood up to 6 inches thick. Based off all my research 10HP will be the minimum I want to go with.

    But I am quite new to this realm and would be open to any suggestions you may have. I will be starting a build thread in the coming days so you will be able to see more details asap.

  5. #5

    Re: 10 HP spindle

    Duplicate post
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  6. #6

    Re: 10 HP spindle

    10 HP seems reasonable for what you propose. I have a 12 HP Colombo spindle sitting on the shelf. It looks like you have your private message function turned off.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    13

    Re: 10 HP spindle

    Hey Jim, I turned my messaging on, it was off for some reason. I shot you over a message

  8. #8

    Re: 10 HP spindle

    You should have my reply by now.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    776

    Re: 10 HP spindle

    The machine needs to have some serious rigidity (for a DIY router anyway) to handle a 10hp spindle. Can't wait to see your build thread. :wave:

  10. #10
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34659

    Re: 10 HP spindle

    For what you want to do, you'll want areally heavy and rigid machine.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10681

    Re: 10 HP spindle

    Quote Originally Posted by George484 View Post
    Hello,

    I am just about to begin a CNC router build but am having quite a bit of trouble finding a 10 HP spindle.

    I am posting to see if any of you guys have any recommendations on where to source such a spindle, or any other details that may benefit??

    Thanks!!!
    George
    Do you have 3 Phase power to run it
    Mactec54

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    13

    Re: 10 HP spindle

    Yes I have 200 amps of 3 phase power, with an additional 1000 available if required, so lots of power!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-19-2018, 05:12 PM
  2. Replies: 35
    Last Post: 03-21-2017, 02:29 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-20-2017, 09:30 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-19-2013, 05:16 AM
  5. mach3 spindle dro not working, spindle speed changing while jogging and running code
    By jasminder in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-23-2011, 07:12 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •