509,984 active members
2,957 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > TTS to BT30 Changeover? Cheap Arbors?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1461

    TTS to BT30 Changeover? Cheap Arbors?

    Hi Folks. With Tormach offering BT30 on the new MX machines, and I gather BT30 spindle upgrade kits at some stage. I imagine BT30 toolholder and arbor options would be a useful thread.

    I'll start the ball rolling with this video:

    Cheers Cliff

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sX-WMI5AUr0

  2. #2
    Neuer Benutzer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    537

    Re: TTS to BT30 Changeover? Cheap Arbors?

    I am in the midst of this now that I have purchased a new machine. The machine I bought came with enough tools to fill out the tool changer but I'll need a few more for drills and the fly cutter.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    544

    Re: TTS to BT30 Changeover? Cheap Arbors?

    If anyone needs BT30 holders let me know. I have about 40 of them sitting around the shop.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    115

    Re: TTS to BT30 Changeover? Cheap Arbors?

    I was eyeballing these to use for drills. I would like to leave drills set up and you can hardly buy a drill chuck for the money. https://www.ebay.com/itm/5pc-BT30-ER...53.m1438.l2649

    To make a ITTP holder, this might be a good start too https://www.shars.com/bt30-5-16-x-1-...ll-tool-holder
    -Jon

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1461

    Re: TTS to BT30 Changeover? Cheap Arbors?

    Quote Originally Posted by maker of things View Post
    I was eyeballing these to use for drills. I would like to leave drills set up and you can hardly buy a drill chuck for the money. https://www.ebay.com/itm/5pc-BT30-ER...53.m1438.l2649

    To make a ITTP holder, this might be a good start too https://www.shars.com/bt30-5-16-x-1-...ll-tool-holder
    It looks nice - not as cheap, but probably much better quality. Cheers Cliff

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    115

    Re: TTS to BT30 Changeover? Cheap Arbors?

    People without a lathe could clamp up a small carbide boring bar in a vise and open it up to 3/4" in their machine was my thought. I think Shars and Tormach tools are very similar in quality.
    -Jon

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1461

    Re: TTS to BT30 Changeover? Cheap Arbors?

    Quote Originally Posted by maker of things View Post
    People without a lathe could clamp up a small carbide boring bar in a vise and open it up to 3/4" in their machine was my thought. I think Shars and Tormach tools are very similar in quality.
    Yes - I was plannning to put that in my video! Cheers Cliff

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    115

    Re: TTS to BT30 Changeover? Cheap Arbors?

    they don't have a picture but this might be an option too for mod to ITTP https://www.tormach.com/store/index....show&ref=39628
    -Jon

Similar Threads

  1. Source for small, cheap bt30 spindle?
    By jgwentworth96 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-20-2018, 12:40 PM
  2. axis changeover
    By gardon in forum Cincinnati CNC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-23-2016, 11:28 PM
  3. heres a cheap simple DM2900/DM1007 BT30 tool rack
    By acannell in forum Dyna Mechtronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-10-2013, 01:44 AM
  4. 20 degree chamfer with R1,5 on the changeover to the drill hole
    By robbi01 in forum HEIDENHAIN -> GENERIC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-13-2011, 08:10 PM
  5. VAC III Changeover
    By Juanjo in forum Okuma
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-23-2009, 08:40 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •