512,381 active members
3,290 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    26

    Spin too large; check machine ID file

    I've been running my 3D router with a fixed speed spindle motor and set the speed in the tool section at 3000rpm. Everything worked well.
    I'm now using a 3phase motor controlled by a VFD and this works OK using the tool stting window up to 10000rpm. My spindle can run up to 18000 revs but when i input this I get the title message, "Spin too large; check machine ID file".
    I can't find the file to change!
    I'm using LinuxCNC as a controller and with the exception of this speed issue it works great with SolidCAM.
    I can change the gcode manually to give me 18000 rpm but that defeats the object.
    Help please.
    ps posted thread in Solidworks in error

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    3

    Re: Spin too large; check machine ID file

    Change the max rpm in you **.vmid file. This is in your post processor folder. Look under spindle and drive unit.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    26

    Re: Spin too large; check machine ID file

    Thenks for your reply.
    In the post-processor files i've found a "LinuxCNC.vmid.backup" and a "LinuxCNC_bkp0vmid"
    I opened these using free file viewer and found in both files the spindle speed set at 10000rpm.
    Do I change the speed in both files?
    I can't edit in free file viewer. How do i edit them?
    Bob

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    26

    Re: Spin too large; check machine ID file

    I've opened another file in the post-procerror files "LinuxCNC.vmid" This opens as the attached but i can't find the spindle speed in this file.
    .

Similar Threads

  1. "spin is not in range check machine id file"
    By alejocs in forum Mexican Club House
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-2019, 08:43 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-29-2016, 02:08 PM
  3. Large File?
    By esadaddy in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-16-2009, 06:46 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •