584,802 active members*
4,926 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > DNC Problems and Solutions > DNC Precision Free, FANUC T21 and Serial Over Ethernet: strange characters get sent

Question DNC Precision Free, FANUC T21 and Serial Over Ethernet: strange characters get sent

Hi,
    i'm here to asking help about a problem that i have. Keyword are: Fanuc T21 Lathe, DNC Precision Free, Serial over Ethernet (ATC3000 as serial to ethernet converter)

Background: we have had this old Windows XP Machine to sent and receive files from a T21 Fanuc controller on a lathe via a COM1 port. (I'm a system administrator from IT dept, not a machinist and i will apologize for every term that is not correct or clear)
    The machinist used to send/receive nc files using hyperterminal on windows XP.

Now the old windows xp machine is gone (broken) and i have migrated the user on a virtual machine with Windows 10. Searching aroung the web i've found DNC precision free edition to send/receive files from the fanuc and i've used a serial to ethernet converter to get the Windows 10 Virtual Machines a com port (com3 in my case) to communicate with the fanuc. After investigating i found the COM serial parameter (4800bps, Parity Even, data bits 7, 2 bits stop, no flow control) and matched them on my serial converter.

I could communicate with the Fanuc (here i'm not able to change anything in the fanuc setting, the machinist check for me that are ok, based on the page that DNC Precision provide for the CNC controller configuration) but i had some problems:

1. On Receive sometime i get timeout on DNC side, when the operator send the NC file from the cnc panel on the lathe
    2. When i send a NC from DNC to the T21 i get some strange character on the NC comment (between the (xx) ). The characters are always the same: ,@,,,, or comma at comma comma comma comma. I cannot understand who is sending this specific string.