535,192 active members*
4,086 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Education + CNC Training > Education - Forum for Technicians and Engineers > What kind of controller to use for CNC plasma table
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    5

    What kind of controller to use for CNC plasma table

    Hi everyone, I have one question that I hope will solve my problem. Eight years ago, I built a very elementary plasma table. Then I used a Chinese CUT-50 and controller MACH3. The problem was that the g-code had to be edited every time. Each time I write in the code, when the plasma starts and when it stops. The speed with which to cut, as well as the arcs with which the cutting begins. It takes me a lot of work and time. Anyway, I've already built a really good table. So my question is: what kind of controller to use. When I place a DXF file, read it and start. I have already purchased a height controller as well HYPERTHERM 65. I have the old MACH3 controller, but I don't want to use it like I wrote above. I settled on this:

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/SF-2100C-2-...QAAOSwZ65c0VsE

    How do you think I can use this thing. I see it has two axes. Or recommend me another one to do my job, but in this price range.

    Thank you for your time with my problems.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    1037

    Re: What kind of controller to use for CNC plasma table

    Hi,
    to be honest I think those controllers are ****e. A customer had one, or in fact several as they all failed. I convinced him to go with Mach4 on a laptop
    and he has never looked back.

    The problem you describe is not Mach3 but rather the means you are using to generate the Gcode. If you used CAM software then you'd never have to
    hand write code.

    Craig

  3. #3

    Re: What kind of controller to use for CNC plasma table

    The solution is to use a CAD/CAM for eg: SheetCAM with plasma plugin is very cheap and robust solution.
    For CNC Controller take a look at RosettaCNC, since 1.7 it has the Plasma Torch support with THC management (if present).

    Here you can read the Plasma Torch management info:
    https://wiki.rosettacnc.com/doku.php...#plasma_torch1

    A video o plasma mode in action
    https://www.facebook.com/rosettacnc/...9943287117365/

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    550

    Re: What kind of controller to use for CNC plasma table

    When you decide this controller is not cutting the mustard, have a look at Linuxcnc and ts plasmac plasma controller. Nothing will come close to it.
    PlasmaC User Guide
    Rod Webster
    www.vehiclemods.net.au

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    1037

    Re: What kind of controller to use for CNC plasma table

    Hi,

    An Ethernet controller won't work with mach3
    BS, Mach3 and Mach4 work perfectly with Ethernet connected motion control boards.

    Craig

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    938

    Re: What kind of controller to use for CNC plasma table

    I use UCCNC with UC400ETH ethernet motion controller on my plasma table.

  7. #7

    Re: What kind of controller to use for CNC plasma table

    I use RosettaCNC which is a industrial CNC with high degree of immunity.
    It has a ETH galvanic insulated port (LAN) and push-pull/line-drive step/dir driver controls.
    The good thing about CNC is that PC is only a UI interface, all axis toolpath and interpolations are made by board itself.
    So any, also very slow and old, PC can be used starting from XP to latest version of Windows.

    Some video:

    https://youtu.be/i58E7vmiNQM

    https://youtu.be/EkUe9YbRZ9A

    https://www.facebook.com/lavormetal/...2302272841782/

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    3

    Re: What kind of controller to use for CNC plasma table

    Hi. I am considering buying UCCNC. About 6 years ago I had the bright idea to build a CNC table, so I did the easy part and bought a bunch of probably junk off of ebay and it sat. Finally, I decided no more hoarding unfinished projects, and I am happy to report, I am almost finished building my first plasma table which is 4x8 and is using rack gear and a spur gear I have Nema 34 motors on 5 to 1 gear reducers. I also have a PROMA THC. I'm at the point where it's time to buy the hardware and software and put it in. So if you had to start all over knowing what you know now, what would you buy? Well, now that I am actually doing this, I realize that I may have blindly bought some gear I don't want to put on the table now. ANY advice is greatly appreciated.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    550

    Re: What kind of controller to use for CNC plasma table

    What I said earlier. Linuxcnc and Plasmac. It will work with your proma but its better if you spend another $69 on a THCAD board and let Linuxcnc manage the torch height control.
    Maybe I'm biased but nothing comes close if you are not wedded to Windows.
    Rod Webster
    www.vehiclemods.net.au

  10. #10

    Re: What kind of controller to use for CNC plasma table

    we Start fire control system from China.
    Start control system input file
    Omni cnc Start fire Plasma cuting system guide - YouTube

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    3

    Re: What kind of controller to use for CNC plasma table

    Thank you very much. I use both, mac and windows, have never used Linux. $69 is almost free. Again, THANK YOU.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •