584,814 active members*
5,382 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Need help with pwm control of a laser

I am new to Mach3 and CNC machining and recognize that there is a learning curve.
    I have a DIY CNC that is NOT using the spindle control and everything is working fine. I am now adding a diode laser. I have looked at all of the youtube videos on setting up Mach3, but think I need some different hardware. Answers to the following questions should point me in the right direction.
    1. Every youtube video uses a breakout board with a spindle relay. My board does not have one. Do I need a different board?
    2. The breakout boards with the relays seem to need a 12-24V input in addition to the 5V. My board does not have this. Do I need a different board?
    3. Assuming that I need a new board, does the TTL input to the laser controller get connected to the relay or the TTL ports on the board? I can manually power up the laser, but what Mach3 to turn the beam on and off.
    4. When I get this working, can I manually turn on the beam within Mach3 and adjust the power down for focusing

Any help would be appreciated

Re: Need help with pwm control of a laser

I'm to a similar place as you and found these threads helpful. The first 2 are from CNCZone. The 3rd one I picked up somewhere else.
    Need help with laser driver and TTL signal

Need help with PWM laser control in Mach3

Adding Laser Engraver to CNC Router and Activating in Mach3 – hackingismakingisengineering

My intention is to use a very cheap Chinese bob DB255 1205 as I have one laying around and use the mach3 command M4 for my laser power to turn on, ( I don't use reverse spindle), M5 off and the S command ( spindle speed) to control the ttl firing, S0 for off S1+ on. My particular laser does not have variable power intensity, but I will see what happens when I vary the voltage input power to the laser.

Quote Originally Posted by chopper13 View Post