585,937 active members*
3,887 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking > WoodWorking Topics > Can wood quality cause this?
    Sentinel Guest

Can wood quality cause this?

I am new to CNC, and very new to woodworking, and have been having newbie troubles for past few weeks.

Today I've tried cutting a piece of oak, and ended up with damaged work.

Here is the picture:

What puzzles me is that other side of the same piece ended up perfect, like this (sorry for the blur):

Area I was cutting was 20 x 20cm.

I am not sure if this (breakage and 'hairy edges') happened because of wood, or because of something else.

Any pointers that could help this newbie are much appreciated

Thanks.

I believe climb/conventional milling has something to do with that. Not sure which one should be used on wood

May I suggest trying this pattern on a piece of MDF. MDF is very stable and has no grain. Then, if it is the wood, try cutting with a reduced depth per pass.

Your photo is difficult to see, but it looks like you have either chips missing or your cutter moved out of its defined path. Either of those two conditions can be fixed if you reduce your depth per pass.

Looks like it's due to the grain of the wood and the cut direction. As was mentioned, lighter cuts can help, as well as using very sharp tools.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)