584,812 active members*
5,534 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Turret indexing

Hi,
    I am just new in industry arena apology first if anyone go offended.. actually I am bit new in cnc line and while programming in fanuc oitf, at the tool call in program or mdi mode.... it goes to home position first to rotate the turret and bring the tool called in the front... which wastes about 2 to 3 seconds per tool.... is there any way that I could stop the turret to travel to its home position or refrence point and index it at the required safe position where I want..... any help would be really appreciated...

Thanks
    Rishi

Re: Turret indexing

I think you can set the G53 to choose a safe tool change position. See the G53 documentation for exact format for your system.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

If the turret is going all the way home without you doing anything more then running T0600 for example, then it's likely that the home position move is part of a Tool Change Macro. Look for a 9000 series program in your directory. You may have to set a parameter in order to see 8000-9000 programs and edit them. If you have no 9000 series program handling your turret rotation, then the turret rotation is probably controlled by the PMC. If that's the case then there is little you can do about it.

If you find a 9000 series tool change program, write it down for safe keeping before changing it. You'll have to use your own knowledge and skills to determine what to do about it.

Sometimes there are also inhibit areas set in the control by parameter, but they shouldn't send the turret home without asking. They would only inhibit it from turning while in an inhibit zone. Usually inhibit zones are way up close to the chuck.