584,854 active members*
4,405 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > Moldmaking > Mold bases - sprue/runner/gate system

Mold bases - sprue/runner/gate system

We're in the planning process to have injection tools built for a line of small, complex parts. The parts will fit on a sprue/runner/gate system that has dimensions of about 10" x 6" -- total depth is about 1/2" or so (these are small parts)

My question is -- I'd like to get a MUD base and then each time we have new sets of parts, we can have inserts milled to fit that base. Cost wise, though, I am not sure if I should be looking for someone to lay it out so that the whole set is on one sprue/runner/gate system -- i.e the 10" x 6" area I mentioned before -- or if we have two inserts at 5" x 6" instead? Is it cheaper to go smaller -- or does it matter?

Thanks -- sorry, I'm a complete newbie at this stuff!

Thanks!

There are many things to consider and many questions you have not asked. Interchangeable inserts are fine but are the knockouts locations the same? Making inserts that are interchangeable can be expensive due to tolerance, size restrictions cooling line layout and O rings (if needed).

Taking the inserts in and out cause damage if you are not careful. Also what types of materials are going to be used. I would assume the same but are the runners and sprue adequate for both? Would you insert the top half also? Is the mud frame strong enough to with stand the pressures of both sets?

Stuff to think about.

Dan

Probably depends on what your parts look like. Check out a company called DME. I think thats we,re we get ours from.