584,833 active members*
5,612 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Esprit > Okuma MB-5000H or similar Horizontal Mill Post Needed

Okuma MB-5000H or similar Horizontal Mill Post Needed

Hi guys,

I am in an urgent need for a good post for a simple horizontal Okuma MB series. If anyone has and is willing to share I'd gladly share something in exchange.

Cheers

Re: Okuma MB-5000H or similar Horizontal Mill Post Needed

Luckily I did find a good post to use.
    Can you guys share how you approach the fixture offset tracking (for Okuma) or in general the zero shifting for multiple parts and multiple sides?

hy gunda, i have no experience with esprit, nor any cam, but about offset tracking, i know that there exist this approaches :
    ... generating all code from the cam, thus without using the macro
    ... using the macro in mdi in order to initialize the wcs, then selecting and executing the program
    ... so far i have never heard of someone that uses a cam to output a file that contains a CALL statement to that macro ( but this does not mean that is not possible )

when i was dealing with multiple fixtures on a vmc, i was using g-code to switch between active wcs; also, in md1 folder, i have had a file with wcs coordinates for each fixture

for example, check this pseudo-code :
    - initialize wcs 1
    - run main program
    - initialize wcs 2
    - run main program
    ... and so on

during loong setups, i was using a different approach, like this :
    - call tool 1, wcs1, cut, wcs2, cut, wcs3, cut
    - call tool 2, wcs1, cut, wcs2, cut, wcs3, cut
    ... and so on, thus i was reducing the tool-changes to a minimal; this also proved to help with restarting and supervising

kindly
    Ladyhawke - My Delirium, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_bFO1SNRZg

Thanks for the ideas Deadlykitten, I think all of them are very well applicable.