584,850 active members*
4,446 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > HURCO > Hurco KMP3 retrofit

Hurco KMP3 retrofit

I picked up this mill several years ago and documented my challenges on another forum. No need to re-hash that here but I'll answer any questions. Long story short there was some trial to get it working but after a few weeks things started failing one at a time. I intended to retrofit it immediately but got caught up in life stuff and pushed it to the corner of the shop. Now it's been dug back out and it either has to get retrofitted and be productive or it has to go somewhere else.

I did another small retrofit on a small mill to see if I even had the ability and it worked out OK so that gave me some confidence to tackle this one. Video here if you're interested.

https://youtu.be/re2-72BH_l4

Here's a picture of the Hurco.

Attachment 437734

Re: Hurco KMP3 retrofit

I am not an electrical guy by trade but have been around industrial machines a lot and pickuped some knowledge there.

I am in the process of a KM3 retrofit also. Mine is to the point where I can use it but there are still things to do. There are multiple drive choices and at least a couple software choices. Like many others, I gutted the control cabinets except for transformers and a couple of relays on the high power side. I installed a VFD so I am running 220V single phase. The KM3P might need either another inverter or switch the variable speed drive pulley control back to manual. Coolant pump needs to be changed to single phase. I opted to run the controls off of a 120vac outlet, through a UPS to have cleaner power to the controls. I am using the original motors and encoders but will be upgrading the encoders and also adding glass scales in few months.