585,992 active members*
5,238 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Welding advice

I am new to MIG welding and tried it a couple of times using mild steel tubing (1/8" thick) on some projects. I have noticed that as the welds cool, the mild steel begins to warp. I heard that tack welding (welding small area) should be done to secure the two pieces in position before putting a bead of weld over the entire weld area. What is the technique or secret I should be using? Should I wait to allow the tacks to cool (for how many minutes) before welding long beads? Should I avoid welding long beads? Should I be looking at the spark and making sure it hits the exact area I want to weld?

Any advice for a beginner is appreciated. I would like to get near expert welding results if possible.

For metal that thin you can't do 'long beads' , Stagger and do 1/2 - 1" beads.

Also what amperage are you running? (If your machine has a four position switch, take the machine amperage and divide by 4 to tell you what each postions amperage is)

yah, he is right, and tacking is a technique, you want to tack both ends together at least, and even the middle in a few places if you need.

I know I have layed long beads on stuff like that but most of the time it tends to warp.

Jon

George,

You're new to MIG but want near expert results? Don't we all?

Anyways, you are going to get some warping. But, the voltage and wirespeed are very closely tied together, so you have to play with the settings a bit to figure out the lowest heat setting that you can use to still get a good bond.

At low settings, the weld metal is going to transfer in globules, at quite high settings, spray transfer may begin to occur. Spray transfer creates a beautiful weld, but dumps lots of heat into it, too