585,735 active members*
4,821 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    537

    Cutter Comp error?

    Hi Tom,

    Wondering if there might be any way to improve the cutter comp errors in Kmotioncnc? Seems to be an issue with internal sharp corners. I've learned to deal with this one most times.

    Trying to do a small o ring groove here today, i have a nice lead in and lead out, no sharp corners, yet it still errors out. I am ramping down in a helix but im pretty sure i have done this before and it worked? Is the helix causing the problem? This is just doing a wear comp of a few thou, not offsetting the width of tool or anything. Thanks.

    Mark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: Cutter Comp error?

    Hi murray,
    Sounds like a issue i had before, had to change the comp entry style to Fanuc. Are you using the Fanuc style comp in your Set up file?
    https://www.dynomotion.com/wiki/inde...xample_G41/G42
    Troy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    537

    Re: Cutter Comp error?

    No, I had no idea about this. This sounds like just what I need. I'll try changing it after i finish this job. Dont really want to risk damaging these parts. So i just copy this line: comp_entry_style FANUC_COMP_ENTRY_STYLE EMC_COMP_ENTRY_STYLE to the setup file? Does it matter where I put it?

    Anything to watch out for with this? Why is this not the default setting?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: Cutter Comp error?

    Here is my entire set up file as an example.
    Code:
    Attribute				Value		Other Possible Values
    
    axis_offset_x			0.0			any real number
    axis_offset_y			0.0			any real number
    axis_offset_z			0.0			any real number
    block_delete			ON			OFF
    current_x				0.0			any real number
    current_y				0.0			any real number
    current_z				0.0			any real number
    cutter_radius_comp		OFF			LEFT, RIGHT
    comp_entry_style        FANUC_COMP_ENTRY_STYLE
    cycle_r					0.0			any real number
    cycle_z					0.0			any real number not less than cycle_r
    distance_mode			ABSOLUTE	INCREMENTAL
    feed_mode				PER_MINUTE	INVERSE_TIME
    feed_rate				5.0			any positive real number
    flood					OFF			ON
    length_units			INCHES		MILLIMETERS
    mist					OFF			ON
    motion_mode				80			0,1,2,3,81,82,83,84,85,86,97,88,89
    plane					XY			YZ, ZX
    slot_for_length_offset	1			any unsigned integer less than 69
    slot_for_radius_comp	1			any unsigned integer less than 69
    slot_in_use				1			any unsigned integer less than 69
    slot_selected			1			any unsigned integer less than 69
    speed_feed_mode			INDEPENDENT SYNCHED
    spindle_speed			1000.0		any non-negative real number
    spindle_turning			STOPPED		CLOCKWISE, COUNTERCLOCKWISE
    tool_length_offset		0.0			any non-negative real number
    traverse_rate			199.0		any positive real number
    I dont think it was known about till a few years ago when i brought it up. If i remember right the EMC setup is on the side of caution. Been currently running the Fanuc style on a couple of mills including my own and only issue i have ever had is sometimes KMCNC does not like the way Fusion outputs it and gives the same gouge pop up.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    537

    Re: Cutter Comp error?

    I tried adding that line, but still get the same error. here is my file:

    Code:
    Attribute				Value		Other Possible Values
    
    block_delete			ON			OFF
    current_x				0.0			any real number
    current_y				0.0			any real number
    current_z				0.0			any real number
    cutter_radius_comp		OFF			LEFT, RIGHT
    comp_entry_style        FANUC_COMP_ENTRY_STYLE
    cycle_r					0.0			any real number
    cycle_z					0.0			any real number not less than cycle_r
    distance_mode			ABSOLUTE	INCREMENTAL
    feed_mode				PER_MINUTE	INVERSE_TIME
    feed_rate				5.0			any positive real number
    flood					OFF			ON
    length_units			INCHES MILLIMETERS
    mist					OFF			ON
    motion_mode				80			0,1,2,3,81,82,83,84,85,86,97,88,89
    plane					XY			YZ, ZX
    slot_for_length_offset	1			any unsigned integer less than 69
    slot_for_radius_comp	1			any unsigned integer less than 69
    slot_in_use				1			any unsigned integer less than 69
    slot_selected			1			any unsigned integer less than 69
    speed_feed_mode			INDEPENDENT SYNCHED
    spindle_speed			1000.0		any non-negative real number
    spindle_turning			STOPPED		CLOCKWISE, COUNTERCLOCKWISE
    tool_length_offset		0.0			any non-negative real number
    traverse_rate			199.0		any positive real number
    Any other ideas?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    537

    Re: Cutter Comp error?

    Did a little more testing. I can do 2d contours with a helix lead in no problem. When I try to ramp in with a helix it will let me do the outside of the groove, but not the inside?? Same size/shape lead in on both.

    Changing the code to arcs instead of linearizing the helix seems to work for this situation.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4045

    Re: Cutter Comp error?

    Hi Murray,

    I've been trying to find a solution/workaround.

    When I try to ramp in with a helix it will let me do the outside of the groove, but not the inside?? Same size/shape lead in on both.
    That makes sense. Imagine a polygon like an octagon. A cutter can go around the outside and cut a perfect polygon, but can't go around the inside without gouging.


    Changing the code to arcs instead of linearizing the helix seems to work for this situation.
    Yes a cutter can go around the inside or outside of a circle without gouging.


    I was thinking a workaround would be change the CAD to make the "polygon" slightly undersized. Then changing the compensation could be used to make it the correct size. I think this would work but the second "lead in" forms a path like an 'S". So there isn't a side where one side or the other doesn't gouge. If the lead in were changed or used arcs then I think it would run.

    Note the wiki here describes the "lead in" types.
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    537

    Re: Cutter Comp error?

    Ok I think I understand now. So because it was linearized it cant work with all the tiny sharp corners when compensating inwards. Makes sense. I was using a negative wear comp with this, just tried a positive value and got the same error on the first curve. And your right, the second curve gives an error with positive and negative values because it has the "S" in it creating a problem either way. This "S" problem explains to me why this would sometimes work, and not other times.

    Well now that I know whats happening I adjusted my software to output arcs and hopefully this will do it for me in most cases. Still might have the occasional part with a sharp corner that gives me an error, but ill just have to remember to put a tiny rad there. Would be handy to have a proper fix maybe in a future version , most controllers would have no problem with this.

    Should I stick with the Fanuc entry or change it back to the way it was?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: Cutter Comp error?

    I ran into more comp gouge error issues when doing small inside shapes when using emc entry. Tested same gcodes on several different VMCs that never had an issue, so i just kept using the Fanuc entry in KMCNC.
    Troy

Similar Threads

  1. cutter comp look ahead error
    By bronec in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-11-2014, 11:48 PM
  2. Cutter Comp error with post proccessor
    By Harley95 in forum FeatureCAM CAD/CAM
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-04-2014, 02:09 PM
  3. G41 Cutter Comp Error
    By thompson_chop in forum Dolphin CAD/CAM
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-09-2012, 01:42 PM
  4. ProtoTRAK freezing up after cutter comp error with g-code
    By LancoUSA in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-24-2007, 03:12 AM
  5. cutter comp error
    By mikeh78 in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-21-2006, 06:04 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •