Hi!

I am looking for help/information regarding getting started with a CNC router, geared for cutting/carving wood. I have been researching all necessary parts and components to get started, but I am wondering if I am missing anything.

I am Active Duty military, and in my free time make wooden signs (mostly state cutouts) as a hobby for close friends and family. I have recently gained alot of interest from other people wanting to buy what I am selling, and put some money aside to purchase a CNC router, in hopes to hasten the initial construction of my signs before all the fine tuning. I am also interested in carving custom cutting boards, entrance signs, and possibly engraving cabinets..

I have decided on the Zenbot 2448 CNC Router, as it seems it is more than capable of this application. Being a beginner, I am unaware of all the necessary components needed to make everything work, I am sure there will be setup instructions sent with the CNC machine when purchased, but I just wanted to get an understanding if I am even capable of using it, software wise.

On the Zenbot website, it lists the add-on options of a Spindal Mount for the router itself, a Control Box, Mach 3 software, and Ventric CAD/CAM software. There is also an accessories drop down that lists a stepper motor for purchase. Before I list all the components I plan to buy, I would like to discuss compatibility with my laptop. I have a Beats Special Edition 15-p030nr 15.6" Multi-Touch Computer. It has a 1.7 GHz AMD A8-5545M Quad-Core, 8GB of DDR3L RAM, 1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive, and AMD Radeon HD 8510G Graphics.

I was reading that if i purchased a CNCdrive UC100 USB to Parallel CNC Motion Controller, it may make it possible to control my CNC machine from a laptop. However, I was wondering if it would be possible with my specific latop described above, or if I will have to purchase a whole new PC.

On to my wishlist! I will list all parts components I plan to purchase below: