585,885 active members*
6,454 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Help Overwhelmed N00B Confusion

Help, I'm s Total NOOB at desktop CNC, but I am currently working on a small 3"x5" Desk Top Mill to learn more before trying to do a conversion on my own Commercial Made tools,
    So far I am thinking I am going to use either This open source DIY Controller or the FET3 Controller or maybe the Hobby CNC board. so the next step is to figure out the software I'm going to need and that has me going round and round. I OWN Acad 2000 and acad 2002, so if possible I'd like to figure out the best lowest cost easiest most idiot proof way of going from acad 2000 to mill what do I need? I'd like to stay with lower cost (Cost effective) software that I can try before I buy. I'm hoping to use a Toshiba Libretto P166 running win 98 so a win 98 or dos would be best also any ideas on other cost effective all in one controller would be welcome
    TIA

I started to get into CNC about three years ago when I built a small router. It went through very many improvements and I learned quite a bit about the various aspects of getting a machine running well.
    I started with homemade 297/298 chipset controllers. If you are looking for a cheap controller to get started this would be a good place to start. You can find a lot of info on the net for these type of controllers. I just built the reference design from the data sheets. These controllers will work OK but will not give you the performance of a microstepping controller.
    I ran these controllers from a windows 98 laptop using TurboCNC. This is a free program you can find on the net and will give you reliable service under 98. It's a pretty basic program and does not do everything well. Constant velocity is not possible so the movement is not as smooth as it could be. Circular interpolation is very slow and the tool basically comes to a stop at the four quadrants.