521,500 active members*
2,425 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > DeskCNC Controller Board > XHC MACH3 MKS V control board issue
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    XHC MACH3 MKS V control board issue

    Hi all,

    I've purchased a China CNC 6040 with XHC mks v control board. I'm trying to setup a solenoid to control cooling but unfortunately so far despite lots of reading I've been unsuccessful.

    I'm using Mach 3, which already has flood/ mist control assigned to output 4. This is ideal I thought, wire up the relay to the control boards 5V output then use output 4 to turn the relay on/off.

    However when I use the M7 gcode to turn the mist coolant on nothing happens, I've measured the voltage and on it measures -0.5V and off 0V.

    I'm completely lost as to why the voltage on output 4 is not high enough to activate a relay.

    Does anyone have an idea as to what is wrong or anything else I should do to get coolant running?

    Please see the attachment images

    Many Thanks

    Colin

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    445

    Re: XHC MACH3 MKS V control board issue

    When I did mine on my different bob it didn't work either. Turned out my control board was a negative output to axis. So I had to wire my SSD positive to my 5v+ supply and my negative - to the axis pin. Can't remember off hand whether mach then had to be active high or low.

    No guarantees cable swap rounds will work for you though.

  3. #3
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34934

    Re: XHC MACH3 MKS V control board issue

    Are you sure port 1 pin 3 is the right configuration?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  4. #4

    Re: XHC MACH3 MKS V control board issue

    Thanks Guys,

    In the end I got it to work using a 24V power supply and 24V relay. I ran 24V between Output 4 and 0V outputs and was able to toggle the relay on/off using the M7 & M9 commands in mach 3.

    No idea if its possible to use the 5V outputs.

    I just need to configure the E stop now, which for some reason does nothing.

Similar Threads

  1. Mach3 spindle control issue
    By Semus in forum CNC Router Parts
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-25-2016, 12:31 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-04-2016, 04:22 AM
  3. MACH3 SPINDLE CONTROL - CONTROL BOARD HELP
    By tuning_cnc in forum General CNC Plasma / Oxy Fuel Cutting Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2016, 04:39 AM
  4. MACH3 SPINDLE CONTROL - CONTROL BOARD HELP
    By tuning_cnc in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-20-2016, 04:37 AM
  5. issue with vfd and spindle control from Mach3 on Crp4896
    By Trafficguy in forum CNC Router Parts
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-17-2014, 01:27 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •