523,736 active members*
2,056 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Autodesk > drawing a lathe part on the right plain
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    336

    drawing a lathe part on the right plain

    I am trying to draw a lathe part and for the life of me ,i can not get that little cube thingy to be were its supposed to be on the z,x plane and then when i start sketch it changes to something else .
    It is driving me crazy ,i watched some vid's but they always start out with some model and do not show what to do from the start .

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1802

    Re: drawing a lathe part on the right plain

    Do you have the "Axis up" set correctly in your "Preferences" for how you are wanting to work, "Z axis up" will have the orientation cube showing the Blue arrow for the Z pointing upwards and the "Y axis up" will have the Green arrow for the Y pointing upwards.
    When you come to the "Manufacture" stage then you will set the orientation in the "Setup" to suit your machine layout.

    For a Lathe (Assuming a standard layout) you would either sketch in the X axis by selecting the X in your "Origin" or do a sketch half of the shape from the top view and then use the "Revolve" function to create your model.
    See attached file for a basic example, run through the timeline to see how it was done


    Regards
    Rob

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    336

    Re: drawing a lathe part on the right plain

    Thank you Engine Guy ,that showed me exactly what i needed to know and was very helpful,i was able to make your example real easy and now i understand the interface a little better i was trying to do the machine orientation the sketch area .

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1802

    Re: drawing a lathe part on the right plain

    Glad it helped, one small tip for using Fusion 360 is to always use solid modelling as much as possible, it is what they call "model driven" and doing lots of sketches in the Design Mode also make files much larger and unwieldy.
    In the "Manufacture" mode selection for toolpathing is mostly done by selecting edges and faces of the model, not sketches, only use those when you have to

    Regards
    Rob

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-30-2015, 02:34 AM
  2. Part drawing blank in Mach
    By gibguts in forum SheetCam
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-15-2015, 05:23 PM
  3. Cnc part larger than cad drawing
    By Raf-1200 in forum Uncategorised CAD Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-24-2013, 02:25 PM
  4. converting imported part drawing to mold drawing
    By msomerville in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-29-2008, 12:56 PM
  5. Part->Block->Drawing-> Dimension
    By cncuser1 in forum Solidworks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-26-2007, 09:22 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •