585,712 active members*
4,073 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

whats the going salary for a cnc operator

I currently got a job as a cnc operator loading/unloading, cutting rough sized stock, measuring parts, changing tools, etc. I am located in WI and only get $7.75/hr for working full time 8+ hrs/week and I get no benefits. When I applied I told them I can use mastercam, inventor, autocad, solid works, and I even have my own Sherline cnc mill I run, so I have some experience.

thanks

Oooouch, $7.75/hr !

I see your age posted as 18, that pay is still low.

How long have you been with this company?

What's min. wage in Wis.?

I checked www.salary.com for "level 1" cnc operator, the lowest pay was $10.91 (Upstate/South Carolina).

Job Description

CNC Machine Programmer I
    Responsible for the programming of computer numeric controlled production equipment. May be responsible for the basic upkeep and corrections to programs. May require a bachelor's degree in area of specialty and 0-2 years of experience in the field or in a related area. Familiar with standard concepts, practices, and procedures within a particular field. Relies on limited experience and judgment to plan and accomplish goals. Performs a variety of tasks. Works under immediate supervision. A certain degree of creativity and latitude is required. Typically reports to a supervisor or manager.

Where are you located in WI. We are always looking for help in SE WI.

P.S. Like everyone, We pay for experience and I know it will be more than 7-8 bucks. You could sweep our floor for more than that.

Quote Originally Posted by zachjowi View Post