585,994 active members*
4,709 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Haas TM-1 or Fadal TRM ?

I have been gathering info for a new CNC purchase. I started out with the idea of retrofitting my knee mill to 3 axis but after searching diferent forums I have concluded that a Fadal TRM mill or a Haas TM-1 bed style mills would be a much better choice and at a comparable cost. Last known price that I can find for a base unit Fadal TRM is $20,000 http://www.ipnews.com/archives/weste.../fadal_trm.htm and the price for a Haas TM- 1 base unit is $22000 http://www.haascnc.com/VMC_PRICE_TM.asp#toolroom .There is alot of Haas TM 1 owners out there but I have not found any Fadal owners. Does any one have any experience with the Fadal TRM or the control? I am somewhat new to cnc milling (currently have a manual mill & cnc plasma machine) so I need a user friendly easy to learn control. I have a small 2 man shop and we need the machine for proto type and low production use. Both these machines are at the upper limits of our budget so before pulling the trigger on a purchase I hoped to gather more info on the Fadal. It seems that Haas has much more after sale support availible than Fadal which is also very important to me. Thanks for any feedback you might have to offer! What is the best machine to buy???

070715-1047 EST USA

magma-joe:

I think you may get better results with your question here than your same question you posted on Practical.

I can not answer your question, but I think Geof will likely have some comments on machine specifics.

My general comments are:
    (1) I like the HAAS control for simplicity of use especially in a job shop type of environment.
    (2) I much prefer a totally enclosed machine. Allows useful flood coolant, and contains chips.
    (3) I never want to use a manually loaded spindle again. An adequate tool changer, meaning enough tools, will save a lot of man-hours.