586,009 active members*
4,659 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

VQC 20/40B Mazatrol CAM M2 Alarm 22 Help

I am new to Mazaks and wondering if I could get some words of advice on a problem. First of all, this machine is a friends and does not currently belong to me, but possibly may in the future pending the outcome of this problem.

The machine has an NC alarm 22, memory parity check. This comes on during power up and the machine goes into a condition whereby servo's can't be moved, no hydraulics, etc. Machine has sat for several months since last use(not sure exactly how many but problably no less than 4-5 months).

It has always had a problem when powering up. The screen will be blank for a varying amount of time, usually a half hour or more, before horizontal squiggly lines can be seen and shortly after that the display will come on. The alarm 22 is just recent however.

Is there any chance these problems are related? Could this be a battery issue which resulted in the loss of some parameters? My friend couldn't recall seeing any low battery light or alarm.

I opened the back of the machine and jotted down what lights where lit on the control boards. FX27 - BT = off, PR = on
    FX15 - AL = off, IT = blinking, BA = blinking but dim (reflection?), RDY = on.

On the first door there are several relay boards that had LED's lit as well,
    FIRST BOARD(TOP)
    Bank TB501 - HLP = on, EMS = on, EMS2 = on
    Bank TB502 - SZS = on

SECOND BOARD(MIDDLE)
    Bank TB503 - MGTD = on, MAR = on, MAR2 = on
    Bank TB504 - all = off

BOTTOM BOARD(03-81367-05)
    Relay SSR04 = on

Also on the 3 servo drives there is a bar of LEDS at the top. Reading from left to right, all 3 boards had the third and fourth lit, Green and Red respectively.

Does anyone here have any idea what could be going on. This machine is usually not used much in the run of a year due to the fact that this shop prefers it's 50 taper machines over the Mazaks 40 taper tooling.