584,842 active members*
4,614 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    6

    Appropriating an action to new buttons added to screen set

    Hi,
    I want to move X,Y&Z axis individually by 0.5mm incrementally using new buttons on the screen,I would like to know how to action this,
    The movement would be in both directions (+&-),
    thanks in anticipation

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    5728

    Re: Appropriating an action to new buttons added to screen set

    What kind of CNC control software are you asking this about? They all work somewhat differently.
    Andrew Werby
    Website

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: Appropriating an action to new buttons added to screen set

    In Mach3, using a screen designer, add a button that calls an M Code, like M555

    Create a macro called M555.m1s, with this code:

    Code:
    DIM XMove
    
    XMove = 0.5
    
    CurrentAbsInc = GetOemLED(48) ' Get the current G90/G91 state
    
    Code "G91"
    
    Code  "G0 X" & XMove
    While IsMoving()
    Wend
    
    If CurrentAbsInc = 1 Then
    Code "G90" 
    End If
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by awerby View Post
    What kind of CNC control software are you asking this about? They all work somewhat differently.
    Hi,
    Am using Mach3

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    In Mach3, using a screen designer, add a button that calls an M Code, like M555

    Create a macro called M555.m1s, with this code:

    Code:
    DIM XMove
    
    XMove = 0.5
    
    CurrentAbsInc = GetOemLED(48) ' Get the current G90/G91 state
    
    Code "G91"
    
    Code  "G0 X" & XMove
    While IsMoving()
    Wend
    
    If CurrentAbsInc = 1 Then
    Code "G90" 
    End If
    Hi,
    Thanks for your reply,
    If I have got this right ?,
    I could set up six buttons,
    Two by each axis thus enabling + or- movement in that axis ?,
    Thanks in anticipation.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: Appropriating an action to new buttons added to screen set

    Yes, 6 buttons, and 6 macros.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    6

    Re: Appropriating an action to new buttons added to screen set

    hi,
    thanks for the info,
    do you know if its poss to incorporate a counter either on the button or adjacent to it to register how many increments have been used,
    v new to this, so green as grass!!!,
    all help/advice much appreciated,
    thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: Appropriating an action to new buttons added to screen set

    Yes. You need to add a user label, and read it when you press the button, then add the increment and re-write to it.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-11-2019, 04:42 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-05-2018, 07:46 PM
  3. Fagor 8020 Screen and axis problems. screen waving?
    By dirtrider23 in forum Fagor Automation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-17-2016, 03:06 AM
  4. WinCNC screen with lots of buttons
    By Harryman in forum WinCnc
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-23-2013, 10:46 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-02-2011, 03:44 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •