585,676 active members*
4,324 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Okuma > writing tool offsets from within program
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    188

    writing tool offsets from within program

    id like to be able to write to my tool offset page from within a program, is this possible?

    i know this vvv works for writing to the work co-ords, but what about the tool offset page?

    VZOFX[11]=XX.XXX
    VZOFY[11]=YY.YYY
    VZOFZ[11]=ZZ.ZZZ
    VZOFA[11]=AA.AAA

    OSP200M controller

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    353

    Re: writing tool offsets from within program

    These are read/write variables

    VTOFH=z.zzzz is for tool height
    VTOFD=d.dddd is for tool dia./ radius

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4154

    Re: writing tool offsets from within program

    hy, those shared by rcs are ok; check also these examples :
    ... vtofd [ 01 ] = 20 ( rad declaration for register 1 )
    ... vtofh [ 10 ] = 123 ( height declaration for register 10 )
    ... vacod, active wcs ( example : back-up of active wcs : vzof*[vacod+20]=vzof*[vacod] )
    ... reading active :
    ...... rad : vc* = vtofd [ vtlcn ]
    ...... height vc* = :
    ......... vtofh [ vtlcn ]
    ......... abs [ vwkaz - vwkbz ]
    ......... vtoht [ vtlcn , vhcod ]
    ... targeting 10mm away from maximum z, regardless of wcs : vpplz - vwkaz + vwkbz - 10 ( is ok for defining clearance positions, that are absolute, not relative to wcs; similar to home positions .... more precise, home positions are relative to a virtual wcs that has vzof*=0, but can not be activated by using G15 )

    id like to be able to write to my tool offset page from within a program, is this possible?
    so yes, it can be done, and may seem nice when you see that it works

    but is it worthy to skip tool setting, by using g-code for auto-initialization ? if you wish to describe what you wish to do, i may help you to speed it up; for example, considering that you have all offsets value inside a file ( sent to the machine through network ) , simply use a gui ( from machine screen ) to declare atc pots inside which you installed your new tools, and create a program to auto-initialie offset only for those; keystrokes example : open, 4 5 12 52, create, program-select, cycle-start; such a method can be used to corelate tool-presseting equipment with machine, even for equipment that is not calibrated for a machine ... there may be room for improvement, depending what are you after / kindly
    Ladyhawke - My Delirium, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_bFO1SNRZg

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    188

    Re: writing tool offsets from within program

    i was mostly looking for a simple way for my operators to run some roughing passes, followed by a finishing pass on some simple parts.
    Was looking for an easy way for them to program something like this at the controller rather than using our CAM systems.
    this along with a nice, clean and simple sub routine call for the part profile will be just what i wanted. simple, clean, easy to read.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4154

    Re: writing tool offsets from within program

    what about i-map ?
    Ladyhawke - My Delirium, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_bFO1SNRZg

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    188

    Re: writing tool offsets from within program

    Quote Originally Posted by deadlykitten View Post
    what about i-map ?
    we hate it, seems like more work to get it to do what we want than its worth.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4154

    Re: writing tool offsets from within program

    yes, this is true all conversationals are a wonder at 1st glance, but after a while, when one gets used with them, may desire for more

    i have created a few codes, in order to speed up programing, being able to behave simple, or more complex

    i believe that you had been thinking about a simpler way

    is possible to reduce programing time for simple operations, using a pc conected to machines, or on-machine installed applications, or excel macros / kindly
    Ladyhawke - My Delirium, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_bFO1SNRZg

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    188

    Re: writing tool offsets from within program

    im not new to coding, but am new to this type of coding and its capabilities. is there a list somewhere of these types of functions?

    VTOFH
    VTOFD
    VZOFX
    ECT
    ECT
    ECT...

    i would like to do my own research and play with them, to gain a better understanding of how they work

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    188

    Re: writing tool offsets from within program

    nevermind, found them :withstupi

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    353

    Re: writing tool offsets from within program

    I get the system variables from the back pages of a OKUMA osp200m instruction manual

Similar Threads

  1. Writing tool and work offsets to a program??
    By GeorgeDV5100 in forum Polls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-18-2013, 04:32 PM
  2. Writing of macro program
    By Freiburgerr in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-03-2010, 08:34 AM
  3. G Code Program writing
    By Tool Guy 1234 in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-24-2010, 12:33 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-13-2008, 05:06 AM
  5. Set Tool Offsets in NC Program??
    By alfalfa in forum CamSoft Products
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-06-2005, 05:47 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •