584,829 active members*
5,070 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > Uncategorised WoodWorking Machines > Newbie looking for opinion on locally manufactured CNC router machine

Question Newbie looking for opinion on locally manufactured CNC router machine

Hi everyone,

I'm a hobbyist woodworker new to the world of CNC. I have a small workshop in my garage and I'm looking to purchase a benchtop CNC router with a bed size up to 600x1200mm or 2x4ft. I'm familiar with fusion 360. I hope to find a machine that will cut/route hardwood timber up to 25mm / 1" thick, plywood, thin wood veneers, acrylic and perhaps some aluminum. I don't require production speeds as I'm just a hobbyist/ small time maker but I would like something capable within it's category.

I live in New Zealand so my options are limited. Importing is an option but I would imagine shipping isn't cheap and all imports are subject to a 15% goods and service tax applied to the cost of the machine, shipping and insurance.

With that being said I've only found a couple options available locally (in New Zealand)

Option 1, shapeoko xxl https://www.mindkits.co.nz/shapeoko-xxl.aspx which is $3,329 NZD or $2,200 USD

Option 2, The other is made by a local manufacturer Vertigo https://vertigocnc.com/products/mx2-cnc-machine The model I'm looking at sells for $6,785NZD or $4,490 USD

Vertigo MX2-N Spec sheet https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/00...f?v=1596084474

I guess my questions are as follows:

How do the capabilities and build quality of the two machines compare?

How capable are either of them at meeting my performance requirements?

lastly should I consider importing A better machine from overseas? What would you recommend? My top end budget limit is $6000USD including shipping/tax

Thank you all for taking the time to read my post.
    Last edited by KiwiCNCNZ; 10-09-2020 at 08:52 AM. Reason: clarity/spelling