585,931 active members*
5,100 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Syil Products > machine problem or software problem?
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    36

    machine problem or software problem?

    as machine runs through program,and before it gets done traveling it moves to next line on gcode. goes down before getting to hole location, hope you understand what i am saying? thanks brian

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    24221
    Sounds like a software problem, in Gcode a line of code is considered a block and should complete before moving to the next block.
    The only exception I can think of is a G31 which is block skip. i.e. it does not complete the block if a skip signal is input.
    Most programs signify the end of a block by CR (carriage return).
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    36
    The Man, Can I send you my code and you can see if theres a problem with it?

    Thanks Brian

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    203
    That is a canned cycle problem in your G-Code. It would be easier to point out if you could post the lines of code that you are referring to.
    Direction, Commitment, Follow Through

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    36
    here are the first couple of lines, the problem occurs when cutter is returning to X0 it gets about 3 inches away and starts to go down instead of staying at the Z0.1 position.
    G0 G49 G40 G17 G80 G50 G90
    M3 S2000

    G0 X0 Y0 Z0

    G0 X0 Y2.375 Z-1.165
    G1 X14 F20
    G0 X14 Z0.1
    G0 X0

    G0 X0 Y2.373 Z-1.1019
    G1 X14
    G0 X14 Z0.1
    G0 X0

    G0 X0 Y2.3682 Z-1.039
    G1 X14
    G0 X14 Z0.1
    G0 X0

    G0 X0 Y2.3596 Z-0.9765
    G1 X14
    G0 X14 Z0.1

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    195
    oh man.......well i'll try
    are you running from machine zero I see no fixture offset call.
    You have redundent X and Z position calls, once its there you don't have to tell it again. Then you have a G0 X0 Y2.375 Z-1.1019 which is a rapid move in Y and Z. It's doing just what you are telling it to do.

    I've always said CNC machines are smart enough to do whatever you tell them to do and dumb enough to do it!!
    Be carefull what you wish for, you might get it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    24221
    It should not make a difference, but there are alot of redundancies in your code,
    Maybe the post you are using,
    e.g. G1 X14;
    G0 X14 Z0.1;
    You do not need the X14 on the second line as X should already be there.
    Also the G0, G01 are modal, so they really only need to be issued once, not on repetitive lines.
    Is it possible the editor you are using is not inserting the necessary end of block? wether this be Line Feed, Carriage Return etc.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    203
    Quote Originally Posted by bcnc View Post
    here are the first couple of lines, the problem occurs when cutter is returning to X0 it gets about 3 inches away and starts to go down instead of staying at the Z0.1 position.
    G0 G49 G40 G17 G80 G50 G90
    M3 S2000

    G0 X0 Y0 Z0

    G0 X0 Y2.375 Z-1.165
    G1 X14 F20
    G0 X14 Z0.1
    G0 X0

    G0 X0 Y2.373 Z-1.1019
    G1 X14
    G0 X14 Z0.1
    G0 X0

    G0 X0 Y2.3682 Z-1.039
    G1 X14
    G0 X14 Z0.1
    G0 X0

    G0 X0 Y2.3596 Z-0.9765
    G1 X14
    G0 X14 Z0.1
    Pretty messed up. Is this a drilling cycle that you are tying to perform? What is the post you are using?
    Direction, Commitment, Follow Through

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    15
    G0 G49 G40 G17 G80 G50 G90
    M3 S2000

    G0 X0 Y0 Z0

    G0 X0 Y2.375 Z-1.165 This is the problem. Z should be at Z0.1 in rapid
    G1 X14 F20
    G1 Z-1.165 This should be here in cut mode
    G0 X14 Z0.1 redundant on X, Z OK
    G0 X0 Don't need to go back to X0

    It seems that your post is screwed up but you can rewrite this in a text editor if you want to run it.

Similar Threads

  1. CAM Software Problem not Posting <--Fix
    By DiscountFinds in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-05-2007, 03:25 PM
  2. 5th axis problem on an old machine
    By puzzleman20 in forum Linear and Rotary Motion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-30-2006, 12:04 AM
  3. Gantry Machine Problem
    By Alex S.A in forum MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-02-2005, 07:36 PM
  4. Problem with vbstep software
    By ccm in forum Computers / Desktops / Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-05-2004, 07:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •