584,833 active members*
5,432 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > International / Regional Forums > Australia, New Zealand Club House > Wanted DIY stepper driver circuit for 6 wire stepper motors

Wanted DIY stepper driver circuit for 6 wire stepper motors

Thanks for reading my thread. I am new to CNC and have constructed my CNC Mill using plywood. I have researched for a DIY driver circuit for a 6 wire stepper motor without success.Has any one found a system to hook onto the parallel port ?I can etch PCB ( single sided using toner technique)with out too much problem and have a demo version of MACH3 for evaluation. The scene is set can you help with information?

kind regards
    Colin300

look at my website.
    Phil, Still too many interests, too many projects, and not enough time!!!!!!!!
    Vist my websites - http://pminmo.com & http://millpcbs.com

DIY 6 wire stepper cct

Hi Colin,

A 'couple' of thoughts. You can use an SGS Thompson IC called an L298 driver in conjunction with an L297 or L297A IC that will save quite a bit of work for each stepper drive cct. ( Google "L298", Download PDF form the Web) This config. only needs a 'step' and 'direction' signal from the parallel port, so you drive a number of steppers from the port. The really nice thing is that the suggested circuit (SGS Thompson application) is a current driven (constant curent source) set up and this will increase the step rate you can achieve remarkably, as a '5 volt' stepper can be happily run from say 36 to 40 VDC, but will only get the set current (no burnout!). The current rise & decay time between steps is reduced in such a configuration and this enables fast phase repetitions (speed!!). The current source is also "switch mode" meaning that power dissipation is neglible, hardly requiring a heat sink for up to 2 Amps drive. Will also drive 4 wire and 6 wire steppers.