534,885 active members*
3,270 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Dmm Technology > Single phase 240 vs 3 phase 240 into dyn4
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    561

    Single phase 240 vs 3 phase 240 into dyn4

    I have 2 servo driven spindles on single phase 240 that are not performing as they should according to specs. One of them is the 1.8kw driving my mill turn spindle. It will give a lost phase fault if i run it faster than 2700rpm and horsepower is also lacking. Maybe a horse and a half before it also gives lost phase fault. Servo is supposed to run at 3k max and nearly 3 horsepower continuous, much higher peak. Been running that one for a long time and living with it since its enough power for most of what i do but the full 3k rpm would definitely be nice.

    Recently i built a servo driven bt30 with a 1kw servo and it is having the same issues. Supposed to run at 5k max and 1.5hp continuous. Faults at 4500rpm and about 0.8hp.

    I have checked my line voltage and it is at 238 so no problem there. The max rpm issue on both servos is the same with nothing attached to the shaft. Ive been talking back and forth with dmm to try and solve the issue, but its taking a while to go back and forth with emails. He mentioned that sometimes residential power can have issues providing enough power and there is a firmware that might address the rpm issue. Not really sure why single phase 240 would behave different in residential vs commercial, but the firmware change could hopefully help
    Still waiting for a response from dmm about sending drives in for update. Seems odd though, i always assumed dmm was commonly used by hobbiest and small businesses, not uncommon to be on residential power. So why don't all drives have this firmware update?

    Im starting to wonder if the real fix is 3 phase power. Is it likely my servos would perform closer to specified rpm and power on 3 phase? The specs show no difference for single phase vs 3 phase, but maybe this was a mistake or a lack of single phase testing. I noticed many other drives have derated specs for single phase.

    If 3 phase will help, is there any issue with a thousand dollar 5hp rotary converter? Do i need something higher quality for something like this? The 2 servo spindles dont run at the same time so i dont think i would need more than 5hp.

    Thoughts?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11888

    Re: Single phase 240 vs 3 phase 240 into dyn4

    Quote Originally Posted by QuinnSjoblom View Post
    I have 2 servo driven spindles on single phase 240 that are not performing as they should according to specs. One of them is the 1.8kw driving my mill turn spindle. It will give a lost phase fault if i run it faster than 2700rpm and horsepower is also lacking. Maybe a horse and a half before it also gives lost phase fault. Servo is supposed to run at 3k max and nearly 3 horsepower continuous, much higher peak. Been running that one for a long time and living with it since its enough power for most of what i do but the full 3k rpm would definitely be nice.

    Recently i built a servo driven bt30 with a 1kw servo and it is having the same issues. Supposed to run at 5k max and 1.5hp continuous. Faults at 4500rpm and about 0.8hp.

    I have checked my line voltage and it is at 238 so no problem there. The max rpm issue on both servos is the same with nothing attached to the shaft. Ive been talking back and forth with dmm to try and solve the issue, but its taking a while to go back and forth with emails. He mentioned that sometimes residential power can have issues providing enough power and there is a firmware that might address the rpm issue. Not really sure why single phase 240 would behave different in residential vs commercial, but the firmware change could hopefully help
    Still waiting for a response from dmm about sending drives in for update. Seems odd though, i always assumed dmm was commonly used by hobbiest and small businesses, not uncommon to be on residential power. So why don't all drives have this firmware update?

    Im starting to wonder if the real fix is 3 phase power. Is it likely my servos would perform closer to specified rpm and power on 3 phase? The specs show no difference for single phase vs 3 phase, but maybe this was a mistake or a lack of single phase testing. I noticed many other drives have derated specs for single phase.

    If 3 phase will help, is there any issue with a thousand dollar 5hp rotary converter? Do i need something higher quality for something like this? The 2 servo spindles dont run at the same time so i dont think i would need more than 5hp.

    Thoughts?
    You never want to use an RPC on any servo drives unless it is the last resort, it can be done but must be balanced very well, you would need a line Reactor and a Power filter before the drives if you used a RPC

    I would say there firmware update will be right if there is a problem with that side of it, they test extensity with single phase power, but everyone's supply can be slightly different mine is 245v

    There normally is a limit on RPM related to voltage supply

    What is your Main supply Circuits Amp rating
    Mactec54

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    561

    Re: Single phase 240 vs 3 phase 240 into dyn4

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    You never want to use an RPC on any servo drives unless it is the last resort, it can be done but must be balanced very well, you would need a line Reactor and a Power filter before the drives if you used a RPC

    I would say there firmware update will be right if there is a problem with that side of it, they test extensity with single phase power, but everyone's supply can be slightly different mine is 245v

    There normally is a limit on RPM related to voltage supply

    What is your Main supply Circuits Amp rating
    200a service

    When i look at a couple other servo brands, they have derated specs fir single phase amd the numbers are lining up pretty much right on. Clear path shows an 11% reduction in rpm on single phase and thats about what im seeing. Just coincidence?

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    561

    Re: Single phase 240 vs 3 phase 240 into dyn4

    Heard back, they said 3 phase wont help much. Going to send both in for firmware and lighten my main pulley as well. He said the current inertia of it is really pushing its limits and could be cause for the faulting

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11888

    Re: Single phase 240 vs 3 phase 240 into dyn4

    Quote Originally Posted by QuinnSjoblom View Post
    Heard back, they said 3 phase wont help much. Going to send both in for firmware and lighten my main pulley as well. He said the current inertia of it is really pushing its limits and could be cause for the faulting
    The only DMM that have a derating is for the Dyn2 which are low voltage drives and use the same motors up to 750w

    That was my thoughts as well but you said it did it with no pulley so I did not post, servos in general don't react well if the inertia is around or close to the motors max

    You did not say in your other post if you are using a Braking Resistor which would help when slowing down, if not it will fault out

    DMM have done extensive inertia testing so will know what will work and what will not, I built most of there test rig for there inertia testing
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 08-13-2019, 04:53 AM
  2. Robodrill 7.5hp spindle. Single Phase Power input No Rotary Phase convetor doable?
    By whiteriver in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-05-2017, 09:01 PM
  3. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 07-15-2016, 05:15 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-24-2015, 07:04 PM
  5. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-13-2009, 03:53 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •