547,032 active members*
2,522 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: KFLOP

Page 2 of 2 12
Results 21 to 32 of 32
  1. #21
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    76

    Re: KFLOP

    Hello All,

    What type of Pendant or MPG works well with the Dynomotion system? What brands are you utilizing?

    Thanks,

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3878

    Re: KFLOP

    You might see our wiki here.
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  3. #23
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    76

    Re: KFLOP

    Has anyone tired utilizing a wireless MPG, or is it better to stay with a hardwired unit?

  4. #24
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    519

    Re: KFLOP

    Quote Originally Posted by seapacer2 View Post
    Has anyone tired utilizing a wireless MPG, or is it better to stay with a hardwired unit?
    I would stick with wired for sure! So many reasons wired is better... It will be more reliable, wont be bothered by interference etc, batteries will never go dead, and it will always be right there at the end of the cable, will never have to look for it.

    Dynomotion is very flexible with what mpg you can use. Pretty much any traditional MPG can be used. There are some new USB ones kicking around now, no idea if that can be used with Dynomotion, I would avoid it in any case. Go with old school MPG with a cable and wire it right in to the Dynomotion boards. Eliminate the potential problems with wireless transmission,pc delays, usb problems etc.

  5. #25
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    76

    Re: KFLOP

    mmurray70,

    I, myself prefer hardwired but have seen a lot of options for the wireless pendants. Also, I see a bunch of USB, this would be a question for Tom.

    I found this model of pendant today. Is it compatible with KFLOP? It is USB.

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3878

    Re: KFLOP

    Seapacer,

    No we recommend a direct connection to KFLOP. That avoids any USB/PC/Windows delays.
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  7. #27
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    76

    Re: KFLOP

    Good Afternoon Tom,

    I would like to verify the correct connector for adding a 6-axis MPG pendant, JP6 (16 pin IDC) or JP7 (26-pin IDC)?

    Thanks,
    Mark

  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3878

    Re: KFLOP

    Hi Mark,

    See here.
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  9. #29
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    76

    Re: KFLOP

    Tom,

    Got it, perfect. I will start working on adding this to my system. I went back to review a few of the threads on here and see that some guys are utilizing a extra board (Level Shift), is this something that is required or can I hook directly to KFLOP on the JP6 IDC connector? I would like to utilize a 6-axis MPG, this will hopefully give me some control for spindle feed rates, or should I just stay with the 4-axis MPG?

    Thanks,
    Mark

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3878

    Re: KFLOP

    Hi Mark,

    I went back to review a few of the threads on here and see that some guys are utilizing a extra board (Level Shift), is this something that is required or can I hook directly to KFLOP on the JP6 IDC connector?
    You would have to specify what MPG you are referring to and what it s specifications are. In most cases it should be able to be connected directly. JP6 pins should not be driven over 3.8V. Most 5V TTL outputs do not do this. JP6 has 150 Ohm pull down resistors on 8 of its inputs. The MPG must be capable of driving such a load high.


    I would like to utilize a 6-axis MPG, this will hopefully give me some control for spindle feed rates, or should I just stay with the 4-axis MPG?
    With some C Coding you should be able to have the MPG also change Spindle Over ride rates.
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  11. #31
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    76

    Re: KFLOP

    Tom,

    I have been looking at these two (2) different models, the MPG2 and MPG4. I believe this is the same ones that someone utilized form the Dynomotion WIKI pages. However, there are some differences between my wiring schematic and the one I downloaded, and I can always revise mine to match, if needed. Utilizing one of those modules, it appears that I don't need any additional modules or level shift boards, I should be able to hook directly up to the JP6 KFLOP connector, please correct me if I'm wrong.

    Thanks,
    Mark

  12. #32
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3878

    Re: KFLOP

    Hi Mark,

    That sounds correct.
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

Page 2 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Kflop right for me?
    By Badarzewska in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-27-2018, 06:19 PM
  2. atc on kflop
    By sorter in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-23-2016, 11:24 AM
  3. Considering Kflop
    By Voluntary_Exchg in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-30-2015, 03:59 AM
  4. kflop by itself?
    By markymark1 in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-20-2014, 07:19 PM
  5. KFlop 4.3
    By John Coloccia in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-03-2013, 07:57 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •