584,837 active members*
5,428 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Autodesk CAM > Things I wish I knew before using Fusion 360?

Hybrid View

Things I wish I knew before using Fusion 360?

Good afternoon. I'm a watchmaker by trade but the current state of the world has left me in something of an employment corner. Watch work is a fantastic job if you can get it but there are only so many positions available. That said, I'm making myself step into the 3d CAD world. I have 0 knowledge, no good or bad habits. I'm downloading the personal/hobby version of the program as I write this. I'm going to start researching beginner and introduction videos on youtube and I may look into skillshare as well in good time.

My question is this: What are some genuinely basic things I should know, what are some of the traps or mistakes that new users make, and what can I expect or not expect out of the free version? I realize this is a very broad question so any and all information is highly appreciated. Any suggestions on particular users who have good education videos, websites or related content would also be deeply appreciated. Thank you!

Re: Things I wish I knew before using Fusion 360?

Watch Lars Christensen on YouTube.

Learn how to use Components to keep everything organized.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)