585,668 active members*
4,440 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > OpenSource CNC Design Center > Arduino > Coordinate systems confusion
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    11

    Coordinate systems confusion

    I know these questions have probably been asked a lot before, but I cannot figure out what is going on.

    I’m using the following:
    Grbl 1.1h
    CNC 3 board
    Grbl Panel 1.0.9.18
    Solidworks 2021

    I’ve gotten to the point where I can use the Home Cycle button to zero the machine using 3 endstops and offset all of them 6.35mm. The values say -6.35. When I go to make a simple test part (a 200mm x 200mm square) so I can (re)adjust the X/Y/Z step/mm values, it always wants to cut in the nonexistent positive portion of the workspace.

    Is it ‘standard’ to have the workspace be all negative?

    I’ve noticed that if I ‘zero’ the machine in the opposite corner of where the (0,0) is that I can sometimes cut a part, but it doesn’t seem right. By ‘zeroing’ the machine I just reset the Arduino the 3 smaller sized numbers are (0,0,0) when I reconnect.

    I’ve also tried changing the coordinate system in Solidworks, but it never changes anything...



    Using the endstops, should I be able to just start cutting the following the sample gcode?
    Code:
    N1 G20
    N2 (1/4 EM CRB 2FL 3/4  LOC)
    N3 G91 G28 X0 Y0 Z0
    N4 T01 M06
    N5 S12000 M03
    
    
    N6 ( Contour Mill1 )
    N7 G90 G54 G00 X-1.3677 Y-.3102
    N8 G43 Z.1 H01 M08
    N9 G01 Z-.125 F16.2
    N10 G41 D21 X-1.3677 Y-.4402 F48.6
    N11 G17 G03 X-1.375 Y-.4579 I.0177 J-.0177
    N12 G01 Y-1.875 F64.8
    N13 X1.375
    N14 Y.9378
    N15 X.0679 Y1.9264
    N16 X-1.375 Y.9343
    N17 Y-.4829
    N18 G03 X-1.3677 Y-.5006 I.025 J0
    N19 G40 G01 Y-.6306
    N20 G00 Z.1
    N21 X-1.3723 Y-.6282
    N22 G01 Z-.125 F16.2
    N23 G41 D21 X-1.3723 Y-.4982 F48.6
    N24 G03 X-1.365 Y-.4805 I-.0177 J.0177
    N25 G01 Y.929 F64.8
    N26 X.0676 Y1.9141
    N27 X1.374 Y.926
    N28 Y-1.865
    N29 X-1.365
    N30 Y-.4555
    N31 G03 X-1.3723 Y-.4378 I-.025 J0
    N32 G40 G01 Y-.3078
    N33 G00 Z.1
    N34 Z1. M09
    N35 G91 G28 Z0
    N36 G28 X0 Y0
    N37 M30

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    409

    Re: Coordinate systems confusion

    Grbl has a Wiki page about homing. https://github.com/gnea/grbl/wiki/Se...ming-direction

    Default setting ($23=0), the home location is the top right of your work area, with the spindle all the way up.







  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    11

    Re: Coordinate systems confusion

    I've read up on $23 but my homing is working correctly. When I press the Home button the spindle moves up and hits the limit switch, and then it zeros at the X and Y by hitting their limit switches.

    The problem is that whenever it Homes that the part is seems like it always wants to be made in the nonexistent positive workspace. When it starts, it instantly hits the limit switch and stops.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1570

    Re: Coordinate systems confusion

    ...need to set your G54 Work Coordinate. Home the xyz then Jog to where X0 Y0 should be on your part. Then store those values in the G54 Offsets.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    11

    Re: Coordinate systems confusion

    Thanks for your answer!
    I looked into the G54 and I learned that that pressing the ZERO XYZ button was part of the problem. Even when I was pressing the button and it was zeroed, that it was still moving back the home location and triggering the X and Y limit switches; which stopped the code (which it should). This spurred me to further look into the gcode that was produced. I quickly noticed that at the beginning of the code there was this line.

    Code:
    N3 G91 G28 X0 Y0 Z0
    Deleting this line made it start behaving as I was expecting!

    Now I have to look into Solidworks CAM and find out how to fix it so it doesn't always happen.

Similar Threads

  1. PlanetCNC and Work Coordinate Systems
    By JukeBox in forum PlanetCNC
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-11-2017, 08:17 PM
  2. Coordinate Systems for Foam Cutting
    By Arbiter in forum CNC Wire Foam Cutter Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-18-2010, 05:18 PM
  3. Having problems with coordinate systems!
    By imachecknician in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-19-2009, 08:19 AM
  4. User Defined Coordinate Systems?
    By Ed from NY in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-12-2009, 05:34 AM
  5. Multiple Coordinate Systems
    By Cairns in forum SprutCAM
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-19-2008, 09:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •