541,770 active members*
3,471 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Gecko Drives > Could My Power Supply be the Culprit?
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    66

    Could My Power Supply be the Culprit?

    I currently have 4 Nema 34 Stepper motors 85BYGH100B-04 with a Gecko G540 and the Power Supply is a KL-600-48 input 110 14.5A output +48v 12.5 A. I lose steps on large Gcode files (3 +hours) could it be my power supply? Is my power supply large enough for the Nema 34's? Not maybe a month ago it was losing steps so I decided to buy a new Gecko and replace the power supply with an exact replacement with the one I bought the machine with. It has ran great with large files until yesterday then it started missing steps again. I cant afford a new Gecko and power board every other month. At the end of my file it is laser engraving some text and the text line drops gradually then holds good for a while then drops again. Its my Gantry motor the Slave A that keeps skipping. I have switched motor cables and the problem moves to the other motor so i don't think its my motor. I'm lost and any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    5297

    Re: Could My Power Supply be the Culprit?

    Is this a laser engraver you're running with those NEMA 34 motors? It seems they're oversized for that purpose. But that's probably as high-powered a power supply as the G-540 can handle. Have you looked for mechanical issues? Is the enclosure getting too hot? Issues that happen at the end of a long run can often be traced to overheating. Is the Gecko board heat-pasted to a heat sink with a fan blowing on it?
    Andrew Werby
    Website

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    609

    Re: Could My Power Supply be the Culprit?

    If I'm right the stepper spec sheet shows it's a 7A motor:
    https://www.avidcnc.com/cdata/cad/sp...spec_sheet.pdf
    Looking at G540 it says it's only a 3.5A driver.
    https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/motor...E&gclsrc=aw.ds
    There's your more likely problem.

    I think you need to get some new drivers that can deliver 7A at least.

  4. #4
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    5297

    Re: Could My Power Supply be the Culprit?

    Or swap out those monster motors for some smaller ones.
    Andrew Werby
    Website

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    66

    Re: Could My Power Supply be the Culprit?

    Its a router with a laser attachment. Yeah I have really been researching and I see that the Gecko is rated way under what the motors are rated at. I purchased the machine from a guy who built cabinets and doors so I guess thats why he had the monsters. i guess maybe my easiest and cheapest route would be smaller steppers motors. Anyhone interested in some Nema 34's ? haha ! Thanks everyone for the quick replies. Dont know what I would do without this forum.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    609

    Re: Could My Power Supply be the Culprit?

    Quote Originally Posted by awerby View Post
    Or swap out those monster motors for some smaller ones.
    Depends what torque is needed.
    If you want low inductance, the motor amperage tends to be higher.
    Even these 4nm nema 23 motors are 5A to give them a 2.7mh inductance.
    https://www.automationtechnologiesin...l23h2100-50-8b
    These ones are the same torque but are 5.6A to give 2.2mh. Prob one of the best for it's size class.
    https://www.automationtechnologiesin...l23h2100-56-4b

    This driver is still tight but would be a better fit
    https://www.automationtechnologiesin...-driver/mx4660


    Personally I'd ditch Gecko!!!! and either:
    Get some of these to go with the existing motors:
    https://www.automationtechnologiesin...driver/dma860e
    And up the psu tio 60V.

    Or:

    Ditch the lot!!!! Get some of the 5.6A nema 23 motors above
    and some of these:
    https://www.automationtechnologiesin...driver/dma860e
    Keep the 48v psu and see how they go. If you need more speed you can up it to 60v.

    You will likely never see a failure again!.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    66

    Re: Could My Power Supply be the Culprit?

    Thanks everyone. I talked with John at https://www.automationtechnologiesinc.com/ I am going to go with these drivershttps://www.automationtechnologiesin...river-kl-8060e and this control board https://www.automationtechnologiesin...tion-cnc-board. I will keep my motors because i cut a lot of 3/4 plywood and solid oak barrel heads. Thanks again everyone.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2017, 07:12 AM
  2. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-29-2013, 12:58 AM
  3. Power Supply from a computer power supply
    By jmytyk in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 01-11-2006, 09:56 PM
  4. culprit: Printer Cable?
    By anthony in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-12-2005, 01:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •