545,767 active members*
1,745 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tree > FANUC Motor pulse generator question
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    FANUC Motor pulse generator question

    My J325 has a Fanuc spindle motor with a pulse generator, I am wondering if it can be connected to my Unidrive for closed loop vector mode.. Based on the photo it has A A/ B B/ com and 5 vdc connections - no index
    Attachment 463950. I believe pulse generators don't output a square wave but somehow Tree used it with their spindle drive.

  2. #2

    Re: FANUC Motor pulse generator question

    Should be not compatible.

    Quote Originally Posted by lavrgs View Post
    My J325 has a Fanuc spindle motor with a pulse generator, I am wondering if it can be connected to my Unidrive for closed loop vector mode.. Based on the photo it has A A/ B B/ com and 5 vdc connections - no index
    Attachment 463950. I believe pulse generators don't output a square wave but somehow Tree used it with their spindle drive.
    http://cncmakers.com/cnc/controllers/CNC_Controller_System/CNC_Retrofit_Package.html

  3. #3
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23735

    Re: FANUC Motor pulse generator question

    By pulse generator, I assume you mean encoder?
    Pulse generators are generally the term used for them in hand-wheels.
    That appears to be a standard quadrature encoder, not the typical Fanuc encoder used in the servo's as these have a proprietary commutation method.
    You most likely can use it where you would any other quadrature encoder.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  4. #4

    Re: FANUC Motor pulse generator question

    Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    By pulse generator, I assume you mean encoder?
    Pulse generators are generally the term used for them in hand-wheels.
    That appears to be a standard quadrature encoder, not the typical Fanuc encoder used in the servo's as these have a proprietary commutation method.
    You most likely can use it where you would any other quadrature encoder.
    When you say it appears to be a standard quadrature encoder I assume that's based on the signals shown. I call it a pulse generator because that's what Fanuc calls it on the label , it's just there to confuse me 9-) - I will try hooking it up and what the signal looks like on an oscilloscope.

  5. #5
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23735

    Re: FANUC Motor pulse generator question

    For a quadrature encoder, you should have two square waves 90° apart A & B , you should also have their complements. /A & /B.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Similar Threads

  1. Motor Fanuc
    By valvulin in forum Spanish
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-25-2014, 04:03 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-08-2011, 11:41 PM
  3. need FANUC motor
    By recycleroy in forum General MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-22-2006, 03:54 PM
  4. Fanuc motor ???
    By jevs in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-16-2005, 11:47 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •