585,753 active members*
3,826 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Need some advice on my project

Hello All,

I need to build a pan / tilt unit for a security camera project I'm working on. I originally had a mechanical engineer that was supposed to take care of the mechanical stuff, but he flaked out on me and left me holding the bag. I am new to this kind of thing and I could sure use some good advice on a few issues. If some kind hearted soul has a moment to spare, I would be very grateful.

Info:

Pan / Tilt Unit
    Enclosure weight: 200lbs
    Enclosure dimensions: 14" square
    Enclosure base dimensions: 14" x 14" x 4"
    Azimuth shaft size: 1.5" dia.
    Azimuth shaft material: Stainless T-316

Camera Unit
    Enclosure weight: 85lbs
    Enclosure dimensions: 8" x 8" x 22"
    Elevation shaft size: 1.5" dia
    Elevation shaft material: Stainless T-316

1. Stepper motors

I have spent several weeks trying to get up to speed on stepper motors for the purpose of selecting the right motor for the job. I was initially very happy to find that a lot of the stepper companies have an application support group that are there to help customers select the right product. However, after many phone conversations, I have received many conflicting recommendations. I have tried to understand the issues and come up with my own spec. Could someone let me know if I have selected the right motor?

NEMA34
    Holding torque: 1702 in oz
    Gearbox ratio: 2:1

I was planning to use the same motor for both the pan and tilt.

2. Bearings

I'm also having some problems selecting the right bearings for the unit. I figure that I need one radial and one thrust bearing for azimuth rotation and two radial bearings for elevation adjustment. There are a lot of different types of bearings in those categories and I could sure use some good advice on the best choice for my application

I have not managed to come up with anything on this yet.

3. Formed vs. milled