545,673 active members*
2,051 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    10

    Le royaume Mach3 plugin for Huanyang VFD

    Hi there !

    Mach3 with USB to RS485 converter stick and working Le royaume Mach3 plugin for Huanyang VFD 2.2KW.
    All in good working condition.....when a manual tool change stop in a G-code came up which I was running. Machine stops, Z-axis raising up. But the Spindel doesn't stop. Because I was unsure if something in the G-code might not be ok, I pressed the spindel stop button in Mach3 to manually change the tool. That didn't work, so I pressed the STOP button on the Huanyang VFD. That worked, spindel stoped and I changed the tool.

    But since then, I can NOT start the spindel again !! Spindel is ok. Changed settings on Huanyang VFD to manual...spindel starts and stops with the buttons on the Huanyang VFD without problems. Restarted PC and Mach3 multiple times.......the USB to RS485 converter is shown in the device manager....port is correct, settings are correct.....but when I start Mach3, I get the message : Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	4 
Size:	14.3 KB 
ID:	464367

    I have no idea what happend there ! Can't start the spindel with Mach3 plugin since I pressed STOP button on VFD. Before everything was working well. Any ideas or experiences with similar problems ?? Broken USB to RS485 converter or brocken communication card in Huanyang VFD ??

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23740

    Re: Le royaume Mach3 plugin for Huanyang VFD

    Sounds like either of the units could be at fault, you would need to try them separately.
    Either with a 'scope or by substitution
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: Le royaume Mach3 plugin for Huanyang VFD

    Update ! Ok the USB to RS485 converter stick is broken. I have no idea why. It just stoppend working. The new one worked right out of the box. The wire connection to the VFD is NOT a shielded cable. I wonder if I caught some electromagnetic interference which killed the IC max485..... At least it's running again.

  4. #4
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23740

    Re: Le royaume Mach3 plugin for Huanyang VFD

    Quote Originally Posted by Georg View Post
    . The wire connection to the VFD is NOT a shielded cable. I wonder if I caught some electromagnetic interference which killed the IC max485..... .
    Is it a standard motor or a HS 400Hz spindle version?
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: Le royaume Mach3 plugin for Huanyang VFD

    It's a standard HS 400Hz spindle. I keep the cables separate, but there is always that stretch of 5 inches right at the connection terminal on the VFD. I know these inexpensive USB to RS485 converter stick have a reputation to break easy for no reason in the microcontroller community. Nevertheless I think I will change the connection to a shield cable, just to have a higher quality setup.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: Le royaume Mach3 plugin for Huanyang VFD

    Meanwhile I found out.....shielded cable are always a good choise. But due to the communications protocol of RS485 it is advised to use a twisted pair cable, like a CAT5 oder CAT6 cable.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •