545,723 active members*
2,384 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Plasma, EDM / Waterjet Machines > General EDM Discussion > Need help getting a Fanuc Robocut Alpha running
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    22

    Need help getting a Fanuc Robocut Alpha running

    Good morning!
    We bought a 1993 FANUC Robocut Alpha 0a machine with Fanuc 16WA controller a few years ago and are just now getting to powering it up ( long story..). It was running before it was moved as I saw it running. When we power it up now we are getting some errors. When the guy unhooked the wiring he took pictures and marked everything and from what I can tell it is back like it was. The alarms I am getting are
    510 Which the books says it Overload signal for X axis motor
    516 Which the book says is for X axis digital servo detection system
    520 Overload signal for Y axis
    526 Y axis digital servo detection system.

    It also says the the cause is indicated but Alarm 2 for the 510 and 520 errors and Alarm 1 for the 516 and 526 errors.
    I have looked at these and cant really figure it out. I assume that where the 1 is on the Alarms tells what t he cause is but on Alarm 2 the spots where the 1 is don't have anything listed.

    When I bring up the Alarms on the screen here is what I see
    Alarm 1 10000000
    Alarm 2 00101001
    Alarm 3 10000000
    Alarm 4 00000000
    Alarm 5 01100000

    If someone can help me decipher all of this and point me in a direction to start checking things I would appreciate it.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    186

    Re: Need help getting a Fanuc Robocut Alpha running

    Did U figured it out? I have the same problem with exactly the same machine.

    I've found information, that cloned alarms for all drives can be caused by Power Supply Unit, Also alarms 510 and 520 (in my case also 530 &540 for UV axes) disappeared when I corrected first parameter in Servo settings to same value for all drives (in my case 1011).

    BTW.: would You be so kind and share books?

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    22

    Re: Need help getting a Fanuc Robocut Alpha running

    Quote Originally Posted by steryd View Post
    Did U figured it out? I have the same problem with exactly the same machine.

    I've found information, that cloned alarms for all drives can be caused by Power Supply Unit, Also alarms 510 and 520 (in my case also 530 &540 for UV axes) disappeared when I corrected first parameter in Servo settings to same value for all drives (in my case 1011).

    BTW.: would You be so kind and share books?
    I haven't gotten it figured out yet but will look at those servo settings and see what they are. From what little I could figure out all of the settings looked to be right except for maybe the ones that automatically turn the water on. Got busy in the shop and haven't gotten back to it yet.

    As for books I'll see what I can do.

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    186

    Re: Need help getting a Fanuc Robocut Alpha running

    I have also worked a little today with it.
    These change of servo settings "help" randomly for a short time. I had a little help today from mopre experienced guy, and it occured that one of the servo amplifiers make a mess. After unplugging the encoders one of amplifers got up with errrors onit. And after shutting the other one it came with waiting for rdy - sign. So hopefully i found the problem.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    186

    Re: Need help getting a Fanuc Robocut Alpha running

    Another day - another Idea.

    I had a little discussion with Fanuc Guys Here today. They said that these servos are not very problematic and there is very little risk that one of the amplifiers got down. And especially it's most unlikely that both of servo amplifiers got down simultaneously (as I thought earlier) and in this case one should not have an affect for other's work as long as they have a proper power supply. According to them it is a question of proper configuration, cause some data could have been lost during long period of power disconnection.
    As I understand it needs some initialization of settings of steering for proper connectivity between modules. Hopefully i can afford their help. Anyway in my case it means that problem stays unsolved till end of holidays.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    186

    Re: Need help getting a Fanuc Robocut Alpha running

    One problem solved- the servo amplifiers are alive. Tomorrow I will be checking if they are working with machine.
    The problem was built in power supply. Each of the amplifiers has on the board a supply FANUC A14L-0102-0002, and both in my case was damadged by problems of electrolitic capacitors. Most of low voltage capacitors was definitely dry and one or two leaked out, what damadged some more elements. Luckily multi voltage transformer was ok. This power supplies are quite expensive- piece costs bit more than 100 bucks in China. In Poland about 300. As i spoke with my electronic specialist, it is as simple supply as possible, only problem is it has multi voltages outputs- 0, 5, 24, +15, -15, and separate 0, 15v pare. If can find alternative cheaper it can be replaced i thought about few smaller supplies for all the voltages to put there, but the guy fixed both for me for few dollars.
    Now time for tests of power site. Hopefully IGBT's will be ok.

Similar Threads

  1. Fanuc Robocut alpha oc
    By BRAIN-HURTS in forum General EDM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-16-2020, 12:03 PM
  2. EDM Cutting Conditions For FANUC Robocut (alpha)-OC and (alpha)-OiA
    By aaronell in forum General EDM Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-02-2015, 07:01 PM
  3. Fanuc robocut alpha-OiE
    By pife82 in forum General EDM Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-2015, 06:22 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •