0 active members*
4,653 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Ajax retrofit Bridgeport V2XT

Time to take the plunge and give the girl a new brain. I purchased the mill and phase converter a couple of years ago for a cheap price and ran it with the original hardware and software till the computer and power supply quit. So I replaced the computer and added a hard drive and new power supply along with upgraded software from EMI.It worked with limited success. If I had it to do over I would have saved the money I spent with EMI and put it toward a new control. I have already purchased a Via Epia mini ITX that was listed on Ajax's web site and ordered the full package for a Bridgeport CNC conversion.I have already replaced the old CRT with a new flat screen. Works great and fit right in the hole . I modify machinery for a living so I don't feel intimidated about the project. Here's your chance to shine Ajax so don't let me down. Thought I would add a few pics of the before.:cheers:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSCN0569.JPG   DSCN0568.JPG   DSCN0572.JPG   DSCN0574.JPG  

FSCN0580.JPG  
    Another Day in Paradise

Riverside192-
    Nice machine! My 1993 vintage V2XT is almost in that nice of shape. My controller died shortly after I got the machine also. I had tried looking for spare parts, but decided to take the plunge and convert it. It was a bit daunting hacking all of the guts out of the entire cabinet, and converting to Mach3, but it was worth it. Cool trick about mounting the monitor - I did the same with a 15" dell LCD - pic attached.

I temporarily converted the machine to steppers (as I had them on hand) but I am now going to begin a "proper" conversion complete with Galil card and brushless servo's on all three (possibly 4) axes. My machine is only for hobby use, so it's taking a loooooong time to convert, but I have gathered all of the electronics and hope to have it completed this winter.