548,322 active members*
2,784 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Rhinocam > stock/tool collision issue
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Neuer Benutzer
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    77

    stock/tool collision issue

    I newly built a 4th axis trunnion for milling blocks of foam. I use rhinocam and the mach3 post processor. I'm having problems with the long foam mill end colliding with the stock when rotation the stock. I use particularly long mill ends and obviously have to take extra care with them, see pic

    as a test I am running a test doing a test rough and retract, then a 45 counter clockwise rotation of the trunnion/stock, move to start and test rough, retract and then a 45 clockwise rotation of the trunnion/stock etc. What I can see is that the tool will collide with the stock.

    What it looks like I need to do is move the tool away from the stock, then rotate it and move the too back. Alternaitvely I could have the stock and tool move in a syncronised movement avoiding each other.

    My question is how do I do this. Is it setup in my Mach3 controller or the Mach3 post processer in Rhinocam or somewhere else?

    Thanks

    Attachment 467080

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1017

    Re: stock/tool collision issue

    Quote Originally Posted by marbles View Post
    I

    Normally I would just change the retract value in the cam so the tool moves higher up to avoid collision.

    Easy way is to edit the gcode in windoes notepad.
    Change the value of the retract height.

    Unless your machine hasn't got the extra height needed?. This you don't mention.
    If so. You may need to move Y or X past the stock instead. Then rotate. Then come back in.

  3. #3
    Neuer Benutzer
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    77

    Re: stock/tool collision issue

    Quote Originally Posted by dazp1976 View Post
    Normally I would just change the retract value in the cam so the tool moves higher up to avoid collision.

    Easy way is to edit the gcode in windoes notepad.
    Change the value of the retract height.

    Unless your machine hasn't got the extra height needed?. This you don't mention.
    If so. You may need to move Y or X past the stock instead. Then rotate. Then come back in.
    Thanks for the reply.

    Alas the z axis is not quite long enough even at 500mm to retract enough with a 200mm mill end to clear the stock at 45 deg.

    I would need to move backwards on Y outside the boundery of the stock instead. Then rotate. Then come back in. My question is therefore is that programmed within Rhinocam or elswhere?

    Any thoughts most appreciated

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1017

    Re: stock/tool collision issue

    Quote Originally Posted by marbles View Post
    Thanks for the reply.

    Alas the z axis is not quite long enough even at 500mm to retract enough with a 200mm mill end to clear the stock at 45 deg.

    I would need to move backwards on Y outside the boundery of the stock instead. Then rotate. Then come back in. My question is therefore is that programmed within Rhinocam or elswhere?

    Any thoughts most appreciated
    Do you have an editor to edit the gcode?. Or can you edit it in notepad?.
    Reason I ask is I know nowt about rhinocam.

    You could edit your own lines in quite easily.
    Such as:

    Get to the point where you want to rotate.......
    Add a G0 Yxx. (to go out of bounds)
    Then rotate.......
    Add a G0 Yxx. (to come back in bounds).
    Start cutting the new side.
    That's it.

    The above would be a rapid move. If you wanted it a little slower in case of step misses you can just add a Fxxx. on the end of the line.
    You get where I'm going with all this.

Similar Threads

  1. SOLIDCAM FIXTURE COLLISION (BETWEEN STOCK AND TOOL)
    By StergiosCNC in forum SolidCAM for SolidWorks and SolidCAM for Inventor
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-26-2019, 09:55 AM
  2. Invalid collision pair, tool , stock
    By lenny09 in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-11-2016, 03:55 AM
  3. MX-45VAE collision during tool change
    By jjjearls in forum Okuma
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-10-2013, 05:27 PM
  4. collision pair:'tool, stock'
    By wmbeau in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 10-22-2012, 11:27 PM
  5. Tool collision but not really?
    By Starleper1 in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-18-2011, 09:38 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •