547,032 active members*
2,481 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Hyundai Kia > Cant duplicate HIT 8s 840C hard drive
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    65

    Cant duplicate HIT 8s 840C hard drive

    Trying to make a duplicate hard drive for my new to me Hyundai HIT 8s 840C hard drive. Im using a StarTech Drive duplicator that Ive used to make duplicates of drives for my 840D control and my Milllplus control. The Millplus is also a DOS based control, never a problem. I made another Millplus copy today to make sure the duplicator is still working and it is. I have a 170meg hard drive installed in the 840C thats dates from 1996. The drive is seen by the StarTech but when I enter copy mode and initiate the duplicate, the 840C drive does not transfer any data to the target drive (I tried 2.1gb drives and 4gb drives that should work on DOS). Just sits at 0 data transfer. I also tried viewing the Drive on my older MAC osx box and it does not pop up, (this always works on other DOS/WIN95 WIN drives). Is there a hard drive/password copy control lock on 840C drives in Hyundai machines? I believe that this is the original hard drive. I put the drive back into the machine and it works as before. Really like to make a backup.

    Anyone here ever successfully duped these drives? Do I need the exact same drive? Its a WD caviar 170mb HD. I see plenty of mentions of this on the Siemens support site and a few other places and everyone seems to think its dirt simple to do.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1674

    Re: Cant duplicate HIT 8s 840C hard drive

    Don't stuck to that device which worked well once. To make a copy or clone of hdd you need to deal with hdd interface ( must be IDE for that age hdd ), proper PC and software. Clonezilla, Acronis - up to you. Not as complicated as you describing here.
    If the hdd is still alive?

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    65

    Re: Cant duplicate HIT 8s 840C hard drive

    Quote Originally Posted by Algirdas View Post
    Don't stuck to that device which worked well once. To make a copy or clone of hdd you need to deal with hdd interface ( must be IDE for that age hdd ), proper PC and software. Clonezilla, Acronis - up to you. Not as complicated as you describing here.
    If the hdd is still alive?
    Yes hd is fine. Ive used the startech dock to dupe lots of old ide dos drives never had a problem before. Just seems odd that it wont work for this one

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1139

    Re: Cant duplicate HIT 8s 840C hard drive

    I agree with Algirdas, you should try Clonezilla on an old PC. You might see something that helps you figure out why the Startech did not work.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    65

    Re: Cant duplicate HIT 8s 840C hard drive

    Update. In ubuntu, I used DD rescue to make a bit for bit copy of the original 170m hard drive to a 250mb hard drive. When I try to boot from the new drive, I get a "missing operating system" error. How is this possible on a bit for bit copy? It seems like there's some siemens copy protection going on. This is an older machine. Maybe the older machines HD's cant be copied? Anyone ever successfully copy an older 840C drive before?

    All the original files are on the duplicated drive.


    As if that’s not bad enough now when I replaced the original hard drive into the controller I get a flex OS version not correct error and the machine won’t boot, damn. Anybody know how to fix this or am I just hosed?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 81DD3878-8A5C-4FA4-B381-3E6AF5B007AF.jpg  

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    65

    Re: Cant duplicate HIT 8s 840C hard drive

    So flex OS is the app that switches between the Hyundai OS overlay and the standard Siemens overlay correct? I know you can switch between them in the control. I don’t know if the machine runs under the Siemens OS. Wonder if there’s a way to boot into DOS and disable the Hyundai overlay and maybe flex OS as well. I know on the later Hyundai hit lathes there is no Hyundai overlay os. Not sure what year they started doing that.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1674

    Re: Cant duplicate HIT 8s 840C hard drive

    In ubuntu, I used DD rescue to make a bit for bit copy
    since you use Ubuntu already why don't you take Clonezilla? Why do you complicate simple things?
    original 170m hard drive to a 250mb hard drive
    so the new drive is not the same, right? Check CHS parameters, for instance. Even if those are the same, there are still more points for hdd's to be different. Maybe it is a surprise for you: hdd has it's own internal operating system to ensure protection of magnetic surface from damage due to external ( = PC ) errors. This operating system ensures hdd as "memory unit" efficiency serving the user needs
    When I try to boot from the new drive, I get a "missing operating system" error.
    this comes from the BIOS of your motherboard. BIOS settings points to boot from the place, where some of boot media conditions are not satisfied. It's a discipline to learn actually, but based on your story it's possible that you just forgot to
    mark the partition "active"
    How is this possible on a bit for bit copy?
    instead of making the clone you focus on the details of boot from sector device phiposophy. Have you any idea, how many boot from the boot sector variants are?

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    154

    Re: Cant duplicate HIT 8s 840C hard drive

    Hello fellas,

    Is there by any chance someone here that could have an image disk for a 840D MMC 102 win95 ? We have lost our original HDD and then we bought this replacemente HDD but we took it to a company that are "supposed" to be HDD specialists because we needed to make sure we were covered in case anything would happen but apparently they had no idea of what they were doing and now we have TWO bad HDD. Our machine is been down for months now, since we are located in Peru and there are no tech support here at all. The completed number for our MMC102 is 6FC5210-0DA21-0AA0
    Your help would be very well appreciated.
    FLX

Similar Threads

  1. Hyundai Siemens hit 18s 840c
    By Dbn1861 in forum Turning Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-16-2020, 06:02 AM
  2. Hyundai HiT-18s Siemens hard drive replacement
    By svtford4x4 in forum Hyundai Kia
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-29-2020, 05:14 AM
  3. hit 15s manual (840c)
    By jonrya91 in forum Hyundai Kia
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-24-2020, 08:30 AM
  4. Need files for an HIT-8S 840C
    By realsquash in forum Hyundai Kia
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-07-2014, 02:20 PM
  5. hyundai hit 8s 840c battery location?
    By cdfracing in forum Hyundai Kia
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-22-2012, 11:27 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •