547,579 active members*
1,978 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    20

    Stepper skiping steps

    Hi there. I have a hobby cnc router with nema23 425oz steppers and DM542A drivers from some chinese manufacturer "Longs" i've been learning and making my machine in the past 2 years and i have done quite a lot of cutting with my machine and some crashing ???? and im very happy with everything, but a week ago i started hearing strage sounds from my Z axis, at first i thought it was a bearig but then i saw my Z axis is not constant in hight. Then i realized that i might be losing steps after some observation i find out that the sound im hearing is losing steps. I have tryed every combination for microstepping and i tweek some settings in mach3 (those who are for pulse and revolution 5/5 ) i try to change the wiers that go from my breakout board to the driver to use them from my X axis, same result. When i connect the cables from my X axis driver to the Z axis motor, the axis is moving perectly. Z axis motor was moving but randomly is skipping steps in eather direction with the faulty driver and is skipping a lot of steps! I try to connect the faulty driver on other motors and the resoult is the same motors are skiping steps. Now, while im waiting for the new to come frome China is there anyone who fixed stepper driver or who knows or guide me where can this fault acure in the driver so it behave like this. I did an eye observation all the soldering is fine, i test all the capacitors and they are good. What other component can be faulty for the driver to behaive like this. Randomly missing steps, few per turn, none for few rotations then again missing one per turn, few in a row. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    528

    Re: Stepper skiping steps

    I would check and tighten all wire harnesses and connections first.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    20

    Re: Stepper skiping steps

    As i sayed, on the same cables that go to the Z axis motor, with the same connector i just plug a "healthy" driver and it works fine. So, the line is ok and the motor is ok

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    528

    Re: Stepper skiping steps

    Ok. You could prove it’s the driver by swapping it from some working axis. Or just replace it as they are inexpensive.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Stepper skipping steps like it is it’s job
    By ctobe in forum CNC "do-it-yourself"
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-02-2020, 04:52 PM
  2. Chinese stepper motors, how many steps?
    By canman77 in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 11-17-2016, 01:30 AM
  3. HELP Lost steps with stepper motors
    By Dale gribble in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-13-2011, 07:58 PM
  4. Stepper gains steps
    By CNCDevil in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-28-2010, 12:47 AM
  5. Stepper Skipping Steps
    By skartch in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-27-2008, 11:27 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •